Always Wait 30 Minutes After You Eat Before Swimming!

6 10 2008

What. A. Weekend. I guess from time to time I’ll use this to inject my “comments” and “Heyas” and catch you up to date with the life that is Monkey. This is Monkey Speaks afterall right?

I think I may have left early Friday but I don’t remember why. Maybe not. Maybe I left at my normal time and just felt like I couldn’t WAIT to get out of here? HAHA. Anyway.

Background. Miami Beach, my current place of residence (temporary?) sits below sea level. There is also some sort of Storm (I beleive Hurricane Kyle) that has been creating a lot of problems for South Beach (well Miami Beach in general). So, old water system, abnormally high tide, and way too much rain equals… Yup. Floods! I wish I could tell you how many inches we got. I was trying to look but it seems there is nothing out there. I DO know that the water came up to my knees at certain points and my feet were always covered. Here is an excerpt from an article written the DAY BEFORE the massive downpour.

“Draining some of the worst of the flooded spots — like the Wild Oats grocery on Alton Road, or the Waverly Condominium on West Avenue and 13th Street — would be impossible, he said.”

Einsteins Bagels just three blocks south of where I live. This was probably a few days before the storm.

Einstein's Bagels just three blocks south of where I live. This was probably a few days before "the storm."

The significance? The area they just described. Where draining is “impossible.” Yes. That is where I live. GGREEEAATTT.

I wasn’t made aware of any of this until a friend brought the situation to my attention. I knew it had been raining pretty badly all day but didn’t think much of it. This is Florida after all. Welcome to the “Sunshine” State. She was coming to have a girls night and called to ask where to park. “Anywhere, I have a pass.” She then explained to me she was navigating her car through the river that was now my street and the issue wasn’t an open spot, but a spot that wouldn’t let water into her car the minute she opened her door. This of course scared the crap out of me because my car was parked right in front of my building. (I have street parking). Lo and behold I walk out of my door and into the “lobby” and there is water coming up about a step up (luckily the actual apartments are a couple of steps above the foundation). There was easily 2-3 inches of water inside my building. Forget shoes. I splashed out to the car and jumped in. Boo calls at this most inopportune time but of course I answer to rant about the insanity I am now experiencing. My friend will have to suffer along with me. (I informed her to just look for anything that was “doable” and I was getting in my car to do the same, we would meet when one of us parked and find the other and so on…). She finds parking, I grab her and decide, screw it… and jumped my car up on to a sidewalk. It was the only thing I could think of. At least get the car up as high as possible. Luckily my neighbor saw me and picked us up in his SUV and brought us back to the apartment.

Of course instead of going in like intelligent human beings we jump out of the car and head straight for the 24 hour market two blocks down. 😀 I mean really, what fun is a flash flood without Scotch and some mixers? (She and I are both Crown Royal people but I drink mine on the rocks and she enjoys her with some cranberry). Oh and beer. Gotta have beer. I mean. The apocalypse is outside, we were going down with a bang.

So we swim, I mean walk, back to my place and are officially soaked. By this time we have both forgotten our cars. I don’t even think about it till Sunday night when I realize. OH crud. Rent will be late if I don’t get my butt in gear and slip it under the door. So check in zippy bag (I didn’t want it getting wet because it floods at my realtors office too) I go to find my shipwrecked car. I have now named my car the Titanic. I got in thinking I am the smartest duck in the bunch. I escaped a lofty cleaning bill! Or worse, engine or computer damage (new car so there’s lots of computerized crap in there). Except. Why does my car smell like a Ninja Turtle took a dump in my back seat? I pull over and as I hit the breaks I hear the SWOOSH of water and feel my feet get wet. UUUGHHHH.

So my car still smells like Ninja Turtle poot. BUT luckily I am not driving it today. It is in the shop. Being torn apart. So they can vacuum all of the water out from everywhere. Shampoo the carpets. Clean the leather. I was lucky actually. No real damage – all superficial damage. A heavy price tag but at least my car isn’t going to rot away now.

And my dog hasn’t actually walked around outside of my building for a while. I carry him from my car to my door. This may not seem like a huge deal but

Hes one cool pup. And a puppy in this picture. Probably about 10 months.

He's one cool pup. And a puppy in this picture. Probably about 10 months. He hasn't fit in that collar for years now.

chubs weighs like 55 lbs. And doesn’t love the situation. I have to bring him to non-flooded areas to poot. Poor think didn’t go at ALL this past Saturday. And such a good boy too – he did not pooter or peeter in the house ONCE.

All isn’t lost either. I was able to make my 11 am meeting and stopped by the tailor to get a pair of slacked hemmed for that much anticipated event in LA (aahhhh!!!). I really should be studying for it. You know, catch up on the artists they already show – freshen up on the different mediums and genres that are popular today. That kind of stuff. OH! And because I had time to kill I was able to add a few items to Boo’s Survival Kit. WooHoo! Its really coming together. (I’m basically putting together a bag of really awesome things that he will love for a big trip he is taking). I just need to run by Walgreens and get the actual “bag” and maybe some Bandaids and Tissues. Because what survival kit is complete without Bandaids and Tissues?

Actions

Information

26 responses

6 10 2008
Witchypoo

Hmmm…I only have a second, but I wanted to tell you that I’m imagining a drenched Goldie, sputtering around in the downpour, holding the retarded canine. It’s a pretty funny image! Hope the expense for repairing the damage to your car wasn’t too bad, Goldie. It sounds like you and your friend kind of enjoyed yourselves, in spite of the soggy circumstances. Sometimes, all you can do is laugh, right? Hey, I just realized that I never said, “Hi!” to your pal, Belle. So…hi there, Belle! Looking forward to getting to know you. Lara…your daughter’s cheerleading cohorts probably make up their very own soap opera, hugh? Tell us more about it when you have the time. Cloey, hope today is easier for you, Sweetie. Janey, how’s that little guy doing? What about you? Well, I have about a million things I should be doing right now…I’ll talk to everyone later. Take care, Ladies.

6 10 2008
Janelyse829

Wow Rowdy!! you sound like you’ve had quite the weekend. i would be so unbelieveably PISSED! but its great that you turned it around into a good thing with your friend. WITCHY-my little guy is good. I went to visit him today and he was crying when i was going to leave so i stayed and watched cartoons with him till he fell asleep. he knows how i hate it when he cries! the little booger!

6 10 2008
Clo

Cayden had his first doctors appointment today. I don’t like doctors anymore… LoL. His doctor as great, very nice, but of course I’m a typical first time mom and I can’t STAND when he cries. Which, he didn’t do that much today, just once really, but I just KNOW he’s not going to like it when he gets shots and stuff. I hate that. Anyway, he’s very good, he came out weighing 8 lb 10 oz, dropped to 8 lbs 5 oz, and now is back up to 8 lbs 12 oz. which doesn’t surprise me the way that he eats! He also either grew 1/2 an inch or they didn’t stretch him enough at the hospital. And he either has a blocked tear duct or conjunctivitis in his left eye. Poor thing just has goop pouring out of it.

Rowdy- that’s CRAZY. I love the rain, but I HATE getting my feet wet andwalking around in wet clothes and all that junk. I’m glad your car is OK.

Witchy- I’m feeling so so today, I think I just tend to push myself when I feel OK, and then I just feel crappy all over again. My Mom and my sister left today, and I’m seriously expecting a phone call at like 10 to ask if they can come back over, lol. It’s crazy how much they love him, my mom especially. She’s just not very emotional… And just seeing her smile as much as she does…

Lara- I did have pain down there, it can be from a couple of things. You said she was only what? 6 months? So it’s (hopefully) too early for the baby to have dropped, which does put added pressure down there. My doctor told me mine was round ligament pain, which sucks. Sometimes it hurt so bad I couldn’t walk. My doctor told me I could buy a belly supporter type deal, which tends to help I guess. I didn’t buy one, because since I’m bigger, they were more expensive and harder to find, and I only had like a month left so I figured what was the point? But she may want to try one and see if it helps. I would have her push the doctor to at least check to make sure she isn’t dilated. She’s probably not, but my doctor checked me just to be on the safe side.

Janey- I’m glad the little guy is better!

I’m going to go take a nap.

7 10 2008
Janelyse829

okay, drastic change of subject. i HATE my cousin and i wish my best friend would die.

7 10 2008
Janelyse829

okay, i’ve calmed down a bit. i know i must have come of as a little harsh there for a minute. [okay a lot harsh] but still. my cousin is two faced and i wish i could really make her disappear for a while. and im pretty sute my frienship with my best friend of 10 years has ended. we’ve been very close since we were 8 and now we just dont want to see/talk to each other ever again. over stupid shit. she’s being selfish, im refusing to do a favor for her because i think its wrong. my cousin not only told my aunt my deepest darkest secret but also told quite the number of people. i have yet to confront her and im willing myselft not to. i cant. i will kill her. if i see her im going to hit her until every inch of her fragil little body is covered in blood!i know it sounds horrible but its actually not far from the truth. anger management issues run in the family and i believe that i have it the worst. so if i see her within the next two munths-im going to jail for attempted murder. okay now that i have got some of my anger out, im going to bed.
good night girls.

P.S. Clo- so cool that Cayden only cried a little today. i also cant stand when little kids cry-it breaks my heart. i usually just grab them and hug them and give them candu so they’ll stop. lol. then i will get yelled at by their parents for ‘spoiling’ them

7 10 2008
lara21167

Rowdy great post. Love how you and your friend made a bad situation fun! a few weekends ago we got a lot of rain on a Saturday. Seems like it was from the hurricane before Ike. Anyhoo my daughter and I had a bunch of errands to run and we cleaned her closet and took trash to the dumpster in the rain. We were soaked all day long and just had a blast. Time we were finished everything it quit raining:) . BTW the tooth is out yah!! Very simple no pain well just a little and she went to school today. I gave her a tylonal to put in her pocket in case she needs it. My luck someone will see it and be calling me from the school. They are really strick about sending meds with your kid to school.

Clo thanks, I told her to make her doctor check her out to be safe. She also has cervical cancer and will have to have a C section then a hysterectomy when the baby is born. Poor girl.

Jane hope your venting made you feel better. Always good to get those feelings out, sorry I did have to laugh 🙂 And yes wait till you calm down to confront the cousin, don’t want you writing to us from a jail cell haha. Also regarding the friend, if you don’t feel comfortable about the favor don’t do it. Stick to what you think is right, she should understand, if she doesn’t that’s her problem.

7 10 2008
monkeyspeaks

OK, hey guys. Sorry I haven’t been around much. I’ve missed out on a lot!

Clo – my bro was 8lbs 10. I was half his size. 5 lbs at birth. crazy huh?! Im so sorry your inlaws are giving you shit. You know where to find me if you need to vent.

haha of course as I start to write this I get a phone call. I’ll be back to give my shout outs

7 10 2008
Clo

Lara, I also forgot my doctor also told me it could be the bones starting to separate to prepare for birth. It’s most likely round ligament pain, but yeah I’d get checked just to make sure. I hope she’s OK, that sounds like a HUGE hit… I’m glad now I got a c-section, the nurse told me (and I don’t know if this is true or not, because I’ve never been in labor) but that pancreatitus pain was like giving birth naturally. Even if that’s not true, I was ready to kill myself, and going through that for 12 hours does NOT sound like fun to me. I go to get my staples out tomorrow, my stomach looks so gross, my family keeps calling me Frankenbelly. It’s also leaking, which freaked me out (sorry if this is graphic) but my mom said it was normal, and she has her masters in nursing, so I’m trusting her.

7 10 2008
lara21167

I had the bone separating pain now that you mention it. It wasn’t too bad though. Told you a C section wasn’t anything. too bad they had to cut you vertically. I had the “bikini” cut and now you can hardly see it. But I have a 4 inch scar above my belly button from the perforated ulcer. I thought that scar was soooo ugly at first. Now it’s not too bad and hopefully when fully healed won’t be all that noticably. And by the way it takes forever for surgery scars to heal. They say 12 -18 months. Mines been 20 months and it’s not fully healed. How is the little one’s eye?

7 10 2008
mt

hey ladies! rowdy, i hope everything is ok. so the flooding was just from rain? thank the lord, because that effin salt water is horrible! you should see the county owned land here! it’s filled with a parking lot of beautiful cars from the outside, but flooded and moldy on the inside. things are finally getting better here, though. slowly. but. surely. the bf finally broke down and bought a wireless card from verizon for the computer, so internet always now! woohoo! he even got the card for free and 20% knocked of his bill for working for the state and the houston pilots. awesomeness. anyhoo. how is everyone else? how’s the behbeh clo?

7 10 2008
Janelyse829

lara, my mom wants me to talk to her now bcause she hates when we fight but this is a big one. i REALLY dont want to see her ever again. she violated my trust and i dont need people like that in my life regardless if its family or not. so im done with her. as for my best friend i think that we were both under a lil too much stress yesturday and everything just came out sounding wrong. i saw her t9oday but we didnt speak. i got the feeling she wanted to say something to me but i walked away.

7 10 2008
mt

JANE. goofball. i had a best friend (i’m not close with any cousins, but i can imagine a family betrayal is worse) who always backstabbed me. she was always making stupid decisions and i always bailed her out when she fell on her ass. i forgave her when she screwed me over (shit talking, occasional rumor starting, making out/dating/sleeping with the guys i liked, even if it meant cheating on her own bf/fiance). i always figured it was a self esteem thing, but the latest time she went entirely too far. i finally decided it wasn’t a “i hate you and will never talk to you again” thing but it was a “seriously? i’m just so tired of doing this…” and the friendship eventually faded off., and i’m better for it. also, my other best friend in the whole wide world (she knows my deepest darkest secret) and i have gone 6 months to a year without speaking because we were angry. it’s not worth it. your friend will come around, hopefully it’s sooner than later. and if she comes around because she wants something or needs you; hear her out. sometimes that’s the best way to come back together! i hope it all works out. so, in a nutshell: evaluate those two relationships and see if they are important enough for you to work on. also, what ever happened with Ezi? (how do you pronounce that, btw?)

7 10 2008
Janelyse829

MT- me and my best friend are arguing over the stpidest shit ever. if yuh knew what it was you’d probably slap me. but the thing is it wasnt me; its her. she’s pissed as hell for no reason! she wants me to fight someone for her. i said no. and suddenly i a horrible bitch and some other equally nice things. im like, okay. what the hell? are you serious? im 18. i will get arrested if i fight. and she is in college! her ass needs to grow up. i thought we left that shit back in high school. and yes i do mean it when i say i will never speak to my cousin again. my family isnt very happy wityh me right now and its because she started talkin shit and decided to tell everyone my secrets. WTF??? who does that?

Ezi is good. he’s been a little busy with school and work but i still see him every day. which i love!!!
His name is actually Ezequiel [which is Ezekiel in spanish]
but i call him Ezi for short. and i am the ONLY person aloud to call him that.
but you pronounce it Eh-C…funnu, huh?

7 10 2008
Janelyse829

okay, that was supposed to say ‘funny’ lol
i forgot to say that he still wants me to move in with hime and im actually thinking about sayin yes.
what do you guys think?

7 10 2008
Clo

Lara- I’m actually glad they cut me vertically. I’m a little bummed that next time I can’t try a vaginal birth (if there is a next time, which, there probably will be) but on the other hand, I’m kinda glad it’ll be another c-section baby. I was so worried that they’d try to give me the bikini cut, and I was so worried that it would then get infected, so I’m glad they cut me up and down. I’m worried cause tomorrow I get my staples out and I’m like ahhh please don’t split open again, lol. I am really sick of sleeping on my back though, I miss my side and even more I miss my stomach, but it feels weird to sleep on my side… My butt is so sore, lol.

Mt- The baby is good. He actually slept a decent amount last night, hubby got up with him twice and I got up with him twice and then we both were up with him this morning and he stayed awake for a good chunk of the morning and now he’s passed back out. We’re hoping to wake him back up soon so maybe he’ll be up for the evning and sleep through the night. He really is an easy baby *knock on wood* at least so far.

8 10 2008
Janelyse829

Clo-thats great! bt keep in mind that when babies are easy like that they sure make up for it when they are todlers. and if they dont youre going to wish he never turns into a teenager! my sister was the quiestest baby girl ever. when she was 2 she was very polite and well mannered. when she turned 14 all hell broke loose! the boys, the piercings, the lies, the parties. she went wild til my mom layed down the law and she had two choices. listen to my mom or move with our dad. she wanted to move but my dad said no. so she had to calm down.

not trying to say that this is going to happen with you and Cayden. he is so ADORABLE!! God bless him. does he ever get fussy at all? my nephew had the worst colic when he was two months. thank God his only lasted a couple weeks.

8 10 2008
Witchypoo

Hey, Goldie…I forgot to comment on how “awwwwwww”-worthy the picture of your canine companion is. What a cutie! You must spoil the hell out of him, hugh, Sunshine? Cloey…how’s the little guy’s eye?…better? Wow, you’re pretty lucky that he’s already sleeping so well at night. My guys weren’t good sleepers – day or night. My 3 year-old baby spawn still is a very restless sleeper- kicking off covers, thrashing around, halfway waking up and crying…sometimes I have to keep covering him up, comforting him back to sleep. He’s really a well-adjusted, happy little guy…I don’t know why he sleeps so restlessly, sometimes. I had to take him to the doctor today for asthma-related problems…he had a hard time breathing comfortably last night; he was even more restless than usual. The headcold that he got from my other spawn, (brought home from school), went down into his chest; the doctor ordered x-rays to make sure he doesn’t have pnemonia, or some other type of infection…because his breathing sounds so bad. So, he doesn’t have pnemonia or anything, but he has to have extra medication besides the nebulizer treatments for the next few days. I’m glad your little guy is settling in so well, Cloey. Hope everything goes smoothly with the staple-removal tomorrow; I know you’ve been worried about it. Take care, and nightie-night, Ladies.

8 10 2008
lara21167

Jane is so right about “good” babies breaking loose later. My son was a lot to handle as a baby, had his days and nights mixed up. I mean for like a week straight he was awake from midnight until 4 am!! And he always needed held and cuddled. Of course he was my first and I did spoil him a bit. As he grew he was a very easy child, always played nicely by himself and when his sister was born he helped as best he could. He would take care of me if I got sick. Now my daughter was an easy baby. Never cried, which was good because she had/has a big mouth lol. Anyway she ate and slept. Once she started walking she really became a handful and still is!! She needs like constent attention.

Clo I didn’t have any problems with my bikini cut. Did they vertically cut your uterus? it’s my understanding you can still do a Vbac (vaginal birth after c section) if your uterus is cut horizontal. I don’t know if I should tell you that it will probably be a long time before you can sleep on your belly. I am just now able to sleep on my belly from my stomach surgery. And it still hurts now and again. Of course the cut is higher up and probably going through more muscles. I don’t know.

Yes Rowdy your “retarded” dog is aborable. Love the hat and the way he’s looking at the camera. You should enter that photo in a cutest pet contest.

Witchy hope the youngest spawn is feeling better soon.

8 10 2008
lara21167

Jane, I just remembered you asked our opinions on moving in with Ezi. I’d say go for it. You can always move out if it doesn’t work out. And I think living together is a good test on whether or not your compatible for marriage. Of course as I have become more sinical (which I can’t seem to spell right now) I think the guy having his place and the girl her place is the ideal situation for all couples!! I could deal with my husband much better if we had our own places haha 😉

8 10 2008
Witchypoo

Hmmm, Lara…something tells me that MANY women, if asked for their opinions, would agree with your theory about the ideal living arrangement for maintaining harmony, (and sanity); separate living quarters? Not a half-bad idea, hahaha. Janey, I lived with my guy before marrying him, and it helped prepare me for certain realities: his apparent need for guidance regarding fair division of housework, (or ANY division, for that matter), his frustrating belief that Boy’s bedtime is Girl’s bedtime, (whether or not Girl is tired), the incessant channel-surfing that doesn’t allow for Girl to become interested in any particular show…just viewing ever-changing little mini-bites for indefinite periods of time…lots of little fun details like that. Of course, there’s lots of good things, also – don’t get me wrong. I just think it’s better to start off a marriage with a little taste of realism; adjusting to another person’s habits is an easier process when you have a heads-up. It also gives you the opportunity to pool your finances together, making that process easier, also. We did give a nod to tradition by spending the night before our wedding apart – I slept over at my parents’ with my wedding party. Jerry had his guys over at our apartment…yup, you guessed it: they partied most of the night. Yeah, living together was a positive experience for us. It would probably be a good thing for you, also – especially if you’re considering making things more permanent between the two of you at some point in the future. Take care, Ladies.

8 10 2008
lara21167

Witchy, my brother had a g/f for years they each had their own place. I think like 10 years. He finally moved in with her adn within one year they broke up!!
Ladies have a good night.

8 10 2008
mt

JANE- go for it. i did it with my ex, although i had reservations. it didn’t work, so i moved out after, like 2 months. my advice? don’t sign a lease. i didn’t, although i did pay an extra month so he had time to find someone else to move in if need be. now i’m about to move in with the current bf. i’ve been here practically a year and a half unofficially as it is, so no reservations here! we actually just painted and bought furniture. 🙂

CLO- good to hear the baby is good! and i was a good baby, never turned bad, actually! but my older sis made up for it from birth! so you could have a little devil’s minion later in life. jk, jk, kinda! 🙂

8 10 2008
Janelyse829

thanx ladies. i thought about that too. but we spend so———oooo much time together that i think that if we moved in together it’d be too much…? but i think that we should because we’ve been together for 4 years. and even though we’ve decided not to get married til after college, i finally agreed to wear the engament ring he gave me for my birthday. so we’re looking at a 4 year engament and i really think this could be good for us but i also think that we might be rushing into things.

i mean, i turned 18 two moths ago and he just turned 19 a couple weeks ago. he says i think about things too much. and i do. i just dont want something to come between us again-like when i got pregnant. so i am going over EVERY pro and con before i make my decision.

am i wrong? am i thinking too much?

8 10 2008
Janelyse829

OMG!
forgot to mention that i saw my cousin today by chance.
she couldnt even look at me in the eye.
she just walked by me as fast as she could.
luckily my sister was with me and would not let me speak to her

9 10 2008
lara21167

Jane, you probably do think too much. But there’s nothing wrong with that. Best advise I can give you is to go with your gut feelings. If you’re unsure then just wait. Don’t do anything until it feels right.

9 10 2008
Janelyse829

okay, so…..
Ezi calls and says he wants to take me to dinner because i didnt see him yesturday and he misses me. he wants to take me to this fancy new restaurant that opened near the college. of course i say yes and that i miss him too. so i decide to get all pretty for my man. i spent 5 hours and $160 getting my hair done. i rush home, shower,do my make up, get dressed. im about to put something in my purse when my phone rings. Ezi cant make it. he’s really sorry and he’ll make it up to me. he didnt even give me a reason. he just said, “I’m really sorry babe. i cant make it tonight. i promise to make it up to you. i love you.” then he hung up.

Leave a Reply

