Not For Easily Offended (and this really isn’t that offensive anyway)

21 01 2009

I don’t know about you guys, but I frequently come across blogs and articles that make me step back and say “Dude, I wish I thought of that one.” I believe it is kind of like people who will sit back after seeing some crappy invention on HSN and say, I could have come up with that. Like the mister umbrella – the little one that you bring to the beach and it has a fan on it that will mist water on you if you fill up a small water container attached to the umbrella. Double D batteries are needed. Wait, have they come up with that yet? If not, I just did. Back off.

If you haven’t stumbled across Stuff White People Like yet, then you should probably get onto that keyboard and type away. Being one of the few white people I know, I am really quiet the expert at what White People Like. You may think – hey – if most of your friends are of different ethnicities… then how can you be so sure. Well – I observe white people from the other side. Much of what my friends make fun of I secretly like. Whole Foods (which my very unwhite guy finds over priced and a complete rip-off….), Sushi, Sea Salt, Lumber Jack shirts, Kurt Cobain, Blogging. This adds perspective to my observations because non-white friends make fun of these and many more – while I harbor my secret love for them. I admit, I have come out of the closet with one of my White People Likes: Crafting. I proudly craft without shame. I am White.

Many white people visit the SWPL blog and grumble. I think the reality is they are pissed off at being called out. “Hey! There is a Black Guy at that Ugly Sweater Party.” My response to this was “Please refer to Stuff White People Like #14: Having Black Friends.” I am sure the poor guy was dragged along for fun.

So I sit back and wish that I was witty and quick enough to have thought about what White People Like. There are so many things we enjoy that are not up on the site yet too. Lumber Jack shirts have not yet been listed, but I know it is something WPL. Then of course they have yet to add on “Discussing the Relevance and Accuracy of Religion, Group Work Outs, The Eliptical, Collecting Art, Complaining” and much more.

I don’t think I would ever want to make a living off of blogging. I’m not consistent enough to start. And I’m so ADD that my likes and dislikes are all over the place. There are certain activities I’ve kept up with. Im all over Art Collecting and Working out like White on Rice, but Im not passionate enough about said hobbies to write about them daily. I work as a curator – that’s enough for me for now. (BTW, another thing white people like are silly catch phrases…. White Mothers generally take the cake with that one, holding onto catch phrases their teen children retired weeks prior….. Jewish White Boys Who Think They Are Black also have a tendency to hold onto catch phrases retired by ethnicities that are higher on the “cool” ladder).

So that’s basically all that is going on with me. Sitting around, wishing I were more witty – or at least wishing I was faster with my wittiness.

Actions

Information

38 responses

22 01 2009
Witchypoo

Ahhhhh, Goldie, I love your silly-white-girl-ness, (kind of trendy/geeky simultaneously…that’s not the correct way to express what the image is in my head…but I can’t come up with the exact way to explain it right now). Anyhoo…yes, I know exactly what you’re trying to spit out; I’m also a white-girl-with-different-ethnicitied-friends…and always have been). Ethnicitied: I think that’s a Witchy Original…it’s not a real word, is it? My sons also have a variety of friends in this regard…as does my husband. My best friend from my wild & crazy, (a subjective description) youth, Keri, is black; she was very high on the “cool” factor…without trying to be, or even being aware of it much. Anyway, she was comfortable in any venue…white bread suburbia, the streets of Seattle, (where there is much more variation in color/culture/different lifestyles. She thought I was cute in my white-girl-oh-my-goshness, and accepted me fully…while I was always intrigued with her aspects, (much higher on the coolness spectrum…as you’ve mentioned). Mostly, we just accepted all the aspects of each other that were both different, and the same. That’s what good friends do, right?

Take care.

22 01 2009
Witchypoo

Hmmm…after reading what I wrote, I see that it appears as if I’m attributing my friendship with Keri to my “wild & crazy youth” …but that’s not what I meant. We did SOME “wild & crazy” things together – and also a lot of regular, girlfriend things. Anyway, I still think of her as the best girlfriend I’ve ever had.

Nightie-night

22 01 2009
lara21167

Rowdy, I loved that post and I thought you were very witty.I always try to look at all Americans as one culture, but I know their are differences brought in. I am just such a typical “melting pot” American. Lets see I am def a decendent from England (as a matter of fact, My family is decendent from William Bradford’s brother who apparently settled in the south, or so I’m told) My mother’s maiden name is Stallings. Not sure but sounds German to me. And I have Native American or American Indian, or whatever is politically correct. Now as for cultures I am a bit interested in Cherikee (my indian blood) culture. don’t know how I got into all that.

Ok, cloey what in God’s name makes a puppy want to pee on it’s master’s bed??!! I know it is a marking thing but really…. the pup we had before that we had to give away did that. And now Ginger freaking did this morning, and it was on my hubby’s side of the bed. He def defines himself as the Alpha Male or whatever. She needs spade (SP) ASAP

22 01 2009
lara21167

Oh I made mention of an escaped prisoner over the weekend. Well he has made America’s Most Wanted list. Don’t know how dangerous this guy is, he was doing 40 years for killing his boss. Thought Gabber would like this, how he escaped, they were moving the prisoners from one building to another for breakfast. And he just walked away, climbed over 2 razer or barbed wire fenses (yes they found blood) and simply walked away. There are towers with guards overlooking this area (the one inmate we have working here right now said the guards sleep in the towers) They didn’t realize he was missing for about 2 hours and took another couple hours to figure out who it was!! How dumb is that!!

22 01 2009
Clo

Laura- It’s a dominance thing. She’s trying to claim her spot over your husband. I’ve also read that they go through a development faze where they pee on anything that doesn’t smell like them. Spaying should help. Until then I wouldn’t let her in the room.

I am beyond pissed this morning. Yesterday we spoke to a supervisor about being removed from the stupid calling list they have me on. She gave us her direct line in case they called me back this morning. Well guess who I got a call from? Yup. Wells Fargo, looking for Michael. So I called this lady, left her a message, realized I was still pissed and wanted to talk to someone who was actually there. So I call back. The first guy picks up, asks for my account number. I explain I don’t have an account, I want to speak to a supervisor. Transfers me to some line where I have to press 1 for english, then enter my account number, then hit one if I do not know my account number… So my frustration level (and cell phone minutes) are rising. I finally get back to another regular agent. He asked for my account number. I don’t have one. I explain why I’m calling, ask for a supervisor. He asks for my phone number, says he removed the number. I said “No offense, but I’ve been told 6 times by agents and once by a supervisor that my number has been removed. In fact, when they call me and go in to remove my number, they see that it SHOULD have been removed, and it hasn’t, so I would really just like to speak to a supervisor.” To which he responds “M’am, I’ve told you, you’re number has been removed, have a good day.” And HANGS UP ON ME. So I’m like OH FUCK IT’S ON. So I call back. Talk to Tom, who asks for my account number. I don’t have one, I explain the situation. He says “Well then I need your social security number” Um, no you don’t. I explain that I’ve spoken to a supervisor before and never had to give more information that the number they call me on, and I WILL NOT give out my social. He asks me for my account number AGAIN. Again I explain (and still I’m not screaming or cursing at him) That I do NOT have an account, that they keep calling for someone named Michael, that I am NOT Michael, nor do I know a Michael, and they’ve told me several times theyve removed my number, when in fact they haven’t. I tell him all you need to know is my name, which is Laura Erwin, and that I want to speak to a supervisor. He puts me on hold. Comes back and tells me his supervisor won’t talk to me without contact information. Asks, once again, for my account number. I tell him AGAIN, that I do not have an account. That I know what he’s saying is bull because I spoke to a supervisor yesterday without giving out contact information other than my name and phone number. I don’t tell him this but I think he’s just trying to see if I have another account with them or something that I owe on. Which I don’t, but why should I have to give a stranger my social security number? I explain again that I have a son who they wake up every time they call, that they wake me up every time I call, that I am sick, and on top of that already get woken up several times a night to feed and change the baby. I tell him I want a supervisor. He tells me “This is your first warning” First warning for what jackass? So I tell him “No, this is YOUR last warning. I’m just going to call back and speak to someone who isn’t so fucking rude and stupid, asshole” and hung up. Called back. Spoke to someone else, who again, wouldn’t transfer me to a supervisor, but did tell me that he could no longer pull up the account when he looked up my number. I told him that was fine, but I said “I know this isn’t your fault, but I am REALLY frustrated and upset, I’ve just had to call 3 times in order to get someone to speak nicely to me and help me, and I’ve also been told now 7 times, and once by a supervisor, so 8 times, that my number has been removed. I’ll understand and let it go if I get a call today (he told me I might because they can’t take it out of their dialer today, but they’ve never called me more than once a day so I don’t expect one) but if I get a call tomorrow, you will no longer be speaking to me, but my lawyer, and we will be seeking legal action.” And he said OK, apologized, and we hung up.

My mom said I should just block their number, but I think you have to pay to do that, and why should I? I don’t owe this debt, I’m not Michael, they just need to remove me. It’s phone harassment, and how often do they get away with it just because people get tired of trying to get their number removed? Then she said I should just turn my phone off in the morning, but they still leave voicemails, and then on top of that, I like having my phone on. I like knowing that in an emergency someone can get ahold of me. I also use my alarm on my phone. It’s like why should I put MYSELF out for someone elses mistake?

I’ve got plenty of my OWN debt collectors calling me, because of the surgeries and the baby. And that’s hard enough to deal with, but at least I deserve that, you know? If they call me tomorrow I’m seriously just going to cuss them out till they hang up on me. It may not help, but it’ll make me feel better. And then I’m going to call a lawyer. Seriously, they have to be breaking some sort of law.

Sorry to go off on a tangent. I’m just pissed, cause Cayden woke up right before they called, and he was almost back to sleep, which would have meant at LEAST another 1/2 hour for me, which is SO needed. And the phone rings. And he’s just UP. Not to mention that now he’s up earlier than normal, which will just throw the whole day, PLUS his night time bed time off schedule. I want to punch them in the face.

But Rowdy white people are funny. I know, I’m white too.

22 01 2009
lara21167

Clo, I think If I were you I would now call the Consumer Protection Agency and the Better Business Bureau. They don’t have a right to harrass you and you have explained to them over and over this Michael guy doesn’t have that number anymore. Also I think you should look up Wells Fargo’s Corporate phone number and call them and put in a complaint with a person with 1/2 a brain. Doesn’t sound like the people at the collection agency are too intellegent. And the guy that asked for your SSN, that was soooo wrong. You already explained that you don’t have an account. Yea, I would complain to everyone and every agency I could.

22 01 2009
Monkeyspeaks

Clo – Dude, I know what you mean. I haven’t had to deal with THAT persay but Sprint took me throught he whole cat and mouse bullshit to the point where I put my dad on and said he was my financial advisor and would be handling all issues dealing with sprint from then on out.

Basically what happened was Sprint canceled my contract on me. I was never contacted or told it was happening. I woke up, tried calling boo (btw, interesting progression with him, will get to that in a a minute) and it wouldnt work it said my phone was disconnected. I flipped and called Sprint. They said basically what happened was the company I worked for who dropped Sprint. I knew this. We used to be sprint dealers and left them for Verizon. So our company cell phone plans were canceled. No big. I hated Sprint anyway since they kept throwing hidden charges at me that my company wouldnt pay so i had to. Like the 100 dollars in roaming charges that I incurred – get this – IN MY BEDROOM. Apparently when there are no Sprint towers available they switch to different ones and its considered ROAMING… I called them for tha and was like dude – unless I got wasted, went to Rio De Janero and came abck and dont remember, I NEVER LEFT THE CITY!! HOW COULD I BE ROAMING.

Yea – so. They cut me off and explain its because the company left Sprint. OK fine. I ask about the fees you incurr when rbeaking a contract (i used to know the term but i forget now) and they said I wouldnt have to pay them because they cancelled the contract and they didnt follow the right protocol (which would be calling me FIRST to give me the option to keep my contract at the normal cost). OH and I should mention that I had JUST PAID my bill the week prior to this and with sprint you’re paying a month in advance. I was also told i’d receive a new bill with the remaining balance (we paid a portion of the bills the company paid the rest).

Well you can imagine my surprise when… I never received a new bill but was sent to collections 2 months later. WHAT!?!? For… get this…. 250 dollars. First off. My regular bill was 30 dollars for unlimited everything. They tell me that its 30 dollars for an unpaid bill (WHAT?!) another 200 for cancelling before my contract was up and then 20 bucks for overage minutes.

1) I paid that damn bill and had the proof too! 2) OVERAGE?! I have unlimited minutes assholes. (they decided it was more roaming charges which I SHOULDNT have been charged for since they were suppose dto fix that) and 3) THE FUCK if i was paying an ETA (early termination fee,… thats it!)

So i call. Like you CLO, multiple times talk to multiple people and they all say the same thing. “Oh, yea, well, we cancelled your account because you stopped paying us… we havent received a bill for June or July yet.” My resonse HEY I DIDNT cancel shit! (yes i said it nicely at first) and I PAID my bills – you canceled on me blah blah blach.

Basically I kept calling, spoke to a supervisor who was a TOTAL BITCH and said I needed to learn how to pay my bills. I threatened to sue and she said she’d see me in court. Thats when I got my dad involved (who really is my financial advisor and CPA) and BAM problem solved. I payed them 70 dollars to get off my back and that was that. lol.

22 01 2009
Clo

I have sprint now, and they’ve always been nice to me, but TOTALLY try to stick in hidden charges. I’ve learned to read my bill VERY carefully. Usually when I call, they’re very nice about removing shit, but if you aren’t exact with them, they’ll try to pull one over on you. For example, my cell phone got stolen. It was at work, so at first I thought I misplaced it, and didn’t shut it off right away. I figured even if someone had taken it, it was most likely one of my kids, and I was on my free minutes anyway, so what damage could they do?

Well, by the time I realized that I had NOT misplaced it (which was about 3 hours later) they had ordered a couple games. I called, explained the situation. Luckily I had insurance so didn’t have to pay the full price for a new phone. They also said they took off all the charges… A year later is when I got on the plan with my roommate, and she ran up a HUGE phone bill. I called to get the break down on what was charged. She mentioned the game that been downloaded a YEAR earlier. Turns out they took off the charge for downloading it, but you had to cancel the game (which they didn’t tell me) or they automatically charged you every month for it. It’s bull.

22 01 2009
Gabberjazz

OMG about the prisoner, Wow even if the guard is sleeping in the tower which isn’t allowed we have alarms on all the fences and if they touch them they go off and they know shots will be fired to kill from all towers. wow
we do shift rotation every 4 hours with the CX1 who are in the towers and posts. us CX2 work directly with the prisoner so we work the full 8 or 16 in the unit. I hated tower duty lol

22 01 2009
lara21167

I thought you’d be interested in that Gabber. I don’t know when it will be on but if you can get “America’s Most Wanted” TV show, it is supposed to be on there. I think It’ll just make our prison and the guards look incompetent. But maybe they are. I mean this guy literally just walked away. Unbelievable.

22 01 2009
Clo

oH i meant to say also, I don’t know how many of you watch American Idol, but last night the girl named Alexis (She’s from Memphis, she had the little girl, Ryan Elizabeth and a fiance in military school or something.) She’s friends with my best friend (the one we’re going to Memphis to see) and she made it to Hollywood! I know it’s just a friend of a friend, but it was really cool to see her!

22 01 2009
lara21167

That is cool. I don’t usually watch American idol. My hubby controls the TV. I don’t usually have time to watch anything anyway.lol

23 01 2009
lara21167

Hey Gabber they caught our escaped prisoner, about 6 miles from the prison, dumbass!! He should have been halfway back to Mexico by now lol. Anyway they caught him at a convience store in a small town adjacent to Hagerstown (where I live and the Prison is). Anyhoo the convience store is like across an intersection from my Mother in laws. He was just hanging out there for 2 hours, someone finally called the police and they chased him for a mile before finally getting him. Then sent him to Western Maryland to a Maximum Security Prison.

23 01 2009
janey

Lara- hahaha thats funny!

23 01 2009
Witchypoo

Good morning, Ladies. The escaped guy sounds like he was TRYING to get caught. Hanging out within a few miles of where he escaped – at a public place?
Strange.

Cloey, that’s cool about knowing that woman on ‘American Idol’. We watch it sporadically; those auditions are hilarious sometimes. I can’t believe some of the contestants who actually seem to believe they can sing; some of them HAVE to just be playing a joke, or screwing around…maybe following through on a dare, or something. There’s just NO WAY to be THAT bad and not be aware of it.
Also, I can’t believe how much crap you’re getting from that collection agency. You’ve tried everything…I’d just make it so miserable for the person on the other end if they call again – they’ll hang up on YOU. Like, talk to, (no, SHOUT AT), the caller next time in a “foreign” language…totally doesn’t matter if you don’t know any other laguages – just babble on and on in made up sounds/words until whoever is calling you hangs up. Also, keep interrupting if he/she tries to jump in – just cut the person off with loud nonsense. Act like you’re insane…anything. Just piss him/her off as much as possible; it might not accomplish anything constructive…but maybe you’ll feel a little better. I can’t believe the lengths collection agencies will go to.

Janey, how are you doing?

Take care.

23 01 2009
Clo

Jeremy and I were talking about that last night. How if they called me this morning I should talk in other languages, but in languages people knew, and switch from like spanish to french. Like answer the phone with “Bonjour” and then switch to things like “Como te llamas” They didn’t call me this morning, but another 800 number did about a car? I let it go to voicemail, so I dunno what that was about. They’ve never called me before. But I wouldn’t be surprised if the wells fargo people called me tomorrow. One time when they said they removed me, I skipped one day, and then they called me the next.

There was also a guy from a local radio station who went and auditioned and go on TV. He did it last year as well, and got on for like 2 seconds, this one actually showed him singing and was pretty hilarious, cause he danced and did Michael Jackson. He’s a BIG guy, and last year was wearing a shirt that said something like “Dear God if you can’t make me skinny, make all my friends fat” and this year wore a shirt that said “Patrick” on it. I’m sure it’s on WNCI’s (the radio stations) website, so I’ll look at see if I can hook you guys up with a link, it was funny! I tried to find Alexis on you tube but they didn’t have any… So… I’ll try to find her somewhere.

But a lot of people think they can sing because you have to go through like 4 auditions or something before you actually make it in to see the judges. So, I mean, if you get told yes that many times, you think you’re good. I mean I’m sure some just do it as a spoof, but I think some really think they’re good. In patrick’s case he did it to be funny, cause he knows he sucks.

I’m ready for it to be next weekend. That’s my birthday weekend, and I have a feeling my birthday curse will be broken!

23 01 2009
lara21167

Ahhh birthdays…. All of us Aquarians, Mine gets overshaded by my daughters, but I don’t really care. I”m at the age where I’d just as soon forget my birthday lol. I love Witchy’s idea of talking jiberesh (Sp) to the collection agency. That might just work If they won’t remove your number maybe they tag it as “nut case, don’t call” American Idol, I think they let some of those people on air just to keep it entertaining.

23 01 2009
janey

sooooo yea, i’ve always wonderd what makes people who KNOW they cant sing audition. i do have to acknowkledge the fat that it is VERY entertaining for me to watch lol its like the people who audition for so you think you can dace. its funny to watch.

Witchy- im okay-ish.
me and Juicy-friut [my best friend nd yes that IS her real nickname lol] are going to rock-n-bowl tonight. its kinda like a night club. there’s music and alcoholic drinks [and non-alclholic drinks cause a lot of young teenagers hang out there] and bowling. i hope i kick her ass at it lol

23 01 2009
lara21167

Glad to hear you are getting out more Janey, that’s sounds interesting, drinking, dancing and bowling! I haven’t been bowling or dancing for that matter in like forever. Enjoy yourself.

23 01 2009
Monkeyspeaks

I work for a company that does that, except we are 21+ after certain times (some venues its 9pm, some its 10, some its 7). I dont want to say the name of my workplace for privacy reasons (not from you guys, just… i don’t want to advertise who i am and what i do on the net). But yea it’s a fun concept. I work for corporate though so I’m not in our alleys that often. We actually have two in NY but they’re all 21+

23 01 2009
Clo

Meant to let you guys know, in laws are coming over tonight. Expect hilarious racist one liners later!

24 01 2009
Witchypoo

Looking forward to it, Cloey. Also, just remember: after your vacant-minded mother-in-law says or does whatever several times, inspiring your fantasies of stabbing her in the eyeball with the nearest sharp instrument…it’s ok to dream. Just wear a bright, (manic!) smile on your face while you’re dreaming up viciously violent scenerios, Sweetie; she’ll never know…and it’ll make you feel all warm and hopeful inside. Heeheehee.

Take care.

24 01 2009
Clo

No racist comments. However she did speak to me about her vagina!

24 01 2009
Janey

Clo- um, what?
thats kinda random, or is ut another one her preferred comments?

24 01 2009
Witchypoo

Good morning, Ladies. Cloey, what?…is the mother-in-law looking for advice in regard to her vagina? Having trouble finding it? Forget how to use it? (Ok, ok…I know: too vulgar. I’ll be a good girl). That’s quite a surprising and unexpected topic of conversation for a mother-in-law to initiate with her daughter-in-law, yes? Did you keep the manic smile that we talked about earlier in place, Sweetie?

Take care.

24 01 2009
Clo

Well, yesterday was horrible. It went something like this:

Jeremy came home. He asks if I mind if he takes a nap before his parents come, on the couch. I say no. He lays down and asks me to lay down with him. I do. He says “are you still going to love me when I get fired?”

Um…. What?

I guess Jeremy made another mistake, and thinks he’s going to get fired for it. I guess it’s a pretty big deal, and the owner of the company he works for is on a rampage anyway, and there was the email incident he got warned for, so now was NOT a good time to make ANY kind of mistake. He’s expecting to be sent home on Monday. I’m hoping they don’t, and our only hope really is that they’re short handed enough as it is right now, maybe they won’t fire him, or he’s over reacting and they won’t. I’m trying not to worry until it happens, because what’s the point in worrying about something until we know for sure? But then again I’m just kinda like… It’s horrible timing. And I’m frustrated because with this tax money coming back, we were seeing a light at the end of the tunnel… We were going to pay off bills AND have money left over to do fun things. Now? I don’t know. Jeremy still wants to take our trip, and jokes that now we can just do it sooner, but… I think that’s kinda irresponsible. He thinks it’ll be easy to get a job, but… He looked when he got suspended last time and got nothing. And I mean, he says he’ll do anything, so I think he’ll be able to find SOMETHING, but… We were having a semi rough time getting by before, and I just don’t think he’s going to be able to find something that pays as much as he gets paid now. So now I’m looking for a job too. Which breaks my heart cause I really wanted to stay home with Cayden, but hey… You do what you gotta do….

Anyway, on to my Mother in law… The women just GRATES at my nerves. She questions EVERY decision I make… “He’s cold, do you think he’s cold?” “No, I think he’s fine.” “Well his hands and feet are FREEZING!” “They’re always like that. Jeremy’s are the same way. You put socks on them and they’re still cold.” But then when Cayden’s crying “What? Why’s he crying? What’s wrong with him? What does he want” and it’s like, Lady, you question every other choice I make, why would you listen to me when I tell you what’s wrong with him? Not only that, but as well as I know him, sometimes it takes me a minute to figure out what he wants. It’s a process. Bottle, diaper, sleepy, gas? It’s annoying.

So then Jeremy goes to the bathroom when they got there, and she turns to me and goes “Do you watch that show that’s on before Ellen? The Doctors?” and I’m like… “I’ve seen it occasionally” (I think she’s going to tell me some horrible childhood/baby disease they’ve found or something along those lines, she’s done this before.” And then she goes “Oh, well Monday there’s a shows on Vagina’s. I thought you might want to watch it.”

WHAT? OK, I wouldn’t have a problem with telling, say, my best friend about a vagina show. But my Mother in law? I don’t even really talk to my own mother about that sort of stuff, occasionally if I have a medical problem, cause she’s a nurse but… It’s still embarassing, and I CAME from her vagina. And WHY when she hears about a show about Vagina’s does she think I need to watch it? What about vagina’s reminds her of me? To make matters worse, she goes on to say “Yeah, I’m going to watch it. I keep getting these UTI’s, and I want to find out why. I think it’s because I have an acid-y system. Yeah, I can’t even eat tomatoes.”

Okkkkkkk, WHY do I need to know about your UTI’s, and what does having an acid-y system have to do with getting a UTI?

Then later she brings up the fact that Howie Mandel has an irregular heartbeat, and she does as well. Because she has EVERYTHING. Jeremy and I like to text each other while they’re here, so we can talk about them. And I’m like… Is there any disease your mom DOESN’T have? And he was like “Yeah, the HIV” ha ha.

25 01 2009
Witchypoo

Cloey…it blows that you & Jeremy have to worry about this situation with his job. Is he reasonably sure that there’s going to be major repercussions? Maybe his perspective is off because he’s worried, and it won’t be as bad as you’re thinking. He probably feels like shit, hugh? I know you don’t want to have to leave Cayden with anyone else to go to work. Let us know as soon as you find out what’s going on.

Your mother-in-law and her talk of vaginas…hmmm…maybe she’s under the impression that she can “bond” with you by discussing the fact that you have something in common with each other: You both have VAGINAS!!! What a crazy coinkydink, hugh? Her idea that she might be getting the UTI’s because of an acid-y system might come from a belief that a high acid ph in her urine is irritiating the lining of her bladder. Ummmm…I don’t really know if that’s a medical fact or not – but I THINK I’ve heard that, also…a vague recollection. I know that people who don’t drink enough water, and/or drink a lot of coffee, (which DOES contain a lot of acid), have a higher likelihood to experience irritation along the urinary tract – bladder infections. I know this because I used to get them every now and then…and quite often during childhood. So, UTI’s were a topic of conversation in Witchy’s world sometimes. Anyhoo…it’s kind of a funny thing for your mother-in-law to bring up out of nowhere. Does she always discuss personal topics with you? You did mention that she’s always complaining about various health problems, didn’t you? At least you and Jeremy can share a private joke about it…it’s always easier to deal with a difficult person when you can laugh at her/him, isn’t it?

Take care.

25 01 2009
lara21167

Cloey my MIL sees a commercial for a medicine and runs to the doctor complaining of the symtems and gets the med. Funny. And don’t know why she wanted to discuss v-j’s with you, but UTI, I don’t know if an acidy stomach has anything to do with them or not. I of course have an acidy stomach, always have. I used to get bladder infections often (knock on wood) I haven’t had one in a long time. One thing I contribute to them is drinking cola. Like coke or pepsi. Doctors have told me that has nothing to do with UTI, but I found if I avoid colas I don’t get them. Also I found a home cure, which is really supposed to be a preventive measure. Cranberry pills. You can find them anywhere, so you may suggest to your MIL to take them regualarly. I have found if you already have an infection, megadose the cranberry pills and it will cure the infection. Better than taking an antibiotic and getting a yeast infection on top of it.

I am sorry to hear about your husband. As you all know I’ve been struggling with my own hubby’s unemployment, and there are no jobs around here at all. First if he is fired, he may still be able to get unemployment. They are rather reasonable if someone tries to do their job but makes a misstake and is fired for it they will usually give you the unemployement. they do understand that people are human and do make misstakes. So he’ll prob be able to get it. Yes I know it won’t be nearly as much as he is making, but it’ll be something. If worse comes to worse, don’t be afraid to apply for assisstance you both have worked and paid your taxes so reap some benefits from the government if you have to. On the brighter side if they are short handed and your hubby knows his job, they’ll probably just reprimand him. Good employees are hard to find, and they have to know even the best employee can make a misstake, even big misstakes. We were just talking about this at work, the thing with a misstake is to do what you can to fix it and move on. Only if someone makes the same type of misstakes repeatedly does an employer need to take action. Hopefully Jeremy’s employer will take this view. Let us know how it turns out.

25 01 2009
lara21167

Oh I also wanted to suggest something for you, where you can make money and still stay home with Cayden. Home Day Care. I know alot of people who make alot of money doing home day care. And you can take so many deductions you don’t have to pay much in the way of taxes. you can even deduct part of your rent/morgage. Might be worth checking into.

25 01 2009
Clo

Jeremy’s not the type to freak out or assume something without good reason too. I’m the one who does that. So, if he’s saying he might get fired, there’s a real chance he’ll get fired. I wish he was just over reacting. He thinks especially with the suspension, he’s gone. I’m really hoping because they’re short staffed, and he IS good at his job that they’ll let him stya. But I guess he lost a decent amount of money for the company… It’s not missing money, so they don’t think he stole it or anything, but they know where it is, just it’s his fault they lost it… And with his boss the way he’s been, and on such a rampage about saving money, it unfortunately doesn’t look good. I just hope that if they fire him, they do it sooner rather than later. I mean I just hope they don’t keep him around until they’re no longer short handed, and then go “Oh, yeah, now you’re fired” Cause we’re getting this money soon (like it’s supposed to be here the end of this week.) And I don’t want to spend it, even on things like bills, if we may need it for things like food.

I’m just aggrivated right now. Like I’m going to sound like a total cry baby and drama queen when I say this, but I think my birthday is cursed. Horrible things just tend to happen right before my birthday, and therefore it ruins my birthday. I’ve been sick on more birthdays than I can count (including last year, where they bussed in my best friend from Tennessee to see me) She ended up catching something on the bus, and passing it onto me. It landed us both in the hospital (I had just found out I was pregnant and couldn’t take any meds, but was really dehydrated.) We spent no time together cause I got it way worse than she did, and ended up having to stay in bed, then she had to leave early because her Uncle was dying and she had to go home. The year I turned 17 my step-dad left 4 days before my birthday. Which, I was happy about, but on the other hand my Mom was all mopey and all that crap (I know I sound insensitive, but if you knew what this jackass did, you’d be wondering why she cared he was gone as well.) And she even asked if I would mind if he came back… At my birthday lunch, which ticked me off for a couple reasons. The birthday curse started when I was 5 and my Dad died 2 weeks before my 6th birthday.

Anyway I know I sound like a big flippin cry baby, it’s just birthdays are the most important holiday today, cause it’s the holiday that celebrates you. And this year I tried to keep it low key and not plan anything big because when I do things fall apart and I get disappointed, and now they’re falling through anyway.

But, the home day care thing. I did think about that Laura, and put an ad up on craigslist. The only problem is, with the animals… A lot of people don’t want their kids around animals for some reason. Either that or the kids have allergies.

25 01 2009
Janey

clo- i dnt think your birthday is cursed. just think that people choose to make wrong decisions at the wrong time.

26 01 2009
Clo

It’s not all based on decisions though. Like yeah, I guess Brook deciding to travel by bus is her choice, but I mean it’s like she knew it would get both me and her sick. I mean yeah this time it’s Jeremy making the mistake he did and messing up, but it just makes it hard to plan something when I’m so afraid things are just going to get screwed up. And that’s why this year I was like, OK, something low key, and that way if nobody shows I can still have fun. So dinner at one of my fav places. But now I’m just worried about whether we should spend the money or not and all this other crap…

26 01 2009
lara21167

Good moring or afternoon now. Clo have you heard from Jeremy. I have my fingers crossed for you.

26 01 2009
Witchypoo

Good morning, Ladies, (almost afternoon, now). Cloey, I’m crossing my fingers for you, also. Let us know when/if you hear anything.

Take care.

26 01 2009
Witchypoo

Hmmm…well, Lara, this is completely off any subject any of us has discussed for a while, but I reread your comment from right after Goldie’s latest, (this), post, and I thought it was interesting that you have such a wide range of anscestors, (probably the wrong spelling, but I don’t feel like looking it up right now). Anyhoo, your comment about being interested in your Native American heritage reminded me of the sport my son plays – lacrosse. It’s starting back up for the regular season next month, (right now they’re just having voluntary Captains’ practices…Beau has been going to those with a few of the more serious players. The high school captains run them). Which brings me to my fascinating point: did you know that lacrosse is the oldest sport in America? Yeah…the native americans played it with “sticks”, (some kind of basket made out of hides attached to tree limbs), and I think the “balls” were rocks. Ouch. Anyway, it’s really a popular sport on the east coast…just starting to really take off and grow in popularity here on the west coast. Beau is awesome…the high school coach, (he’s also the guy who got lacrosse set up here in the first place), has been watching him since Beau was 11; he’s really partial to hardworking, generous players who have skill, (and, obviously are able to dominate the games)…but, what’s more important to him is leadership ability, and the kind of conduct that sets an example for other players, (both in the game, and in all other situations also). Beau doesn’t just score goals for his team…he sets up plays, helps to control the tone and direction of the game – and he helps other players shine by passing the ball a lot, getting THEM to make goals, also. He’s really mature about his playing style…that’s why even jealous players, (and maybe some parents, also), can’t really come up with anything derogatory to say about Beau, (like “ball-hog”, for instance). Ok…enough blathering on about my spawn. Oh, yeah, (I don’t like to play favorites), Chance is looking AWESOME with his pitching so far…he’s really working hard on his form, accuracy, balence, etc…it’s incredibly hard; it’s good to see him feeling confident again, (he has his ups and downs with consistency…a common problem with really fast, hard pitchers). Mini-spawn is already mimicking Chance’s pitching stance, (they’re both lefties). Heath is also very attentive and coordinated in his martial arts class; he LOVES anything physical.

Take care.

26 01 2009
Witchypoo

Oh, yeah, I forgot to mention that Chance is also wrestling for his school, (7th grade). He’s wrestled since he was 5 years old…he’s really, really good. The schedule is kind of crazy trying to fit in all these practices and everything; like, on advanced pitching days, he has to leave wrestling practice a little early, (the coach already said it was ok), I have to pick Beau up a little before his weight-training session is finished – so that he can be with mini-spawn at martial arts while I’m racing Chance to pitching, then I turn right around and speed all the way back to martial arts, (freeway miles),…I always feel like I’m a few steps behind, you know? Kind of crazy, sometimes.

26 01 2009
Witchypoo

P.S…how’s Kristy’s cheer team doing? Is Kristy having a lot of fun? Any competitions coming up?

26 01 2009
Witchypoo

Hmmm…I wonder why we haven’t heard from Cloey? Hint-hint…

Leave a Reply

