It really is a Hard Knock Life

26 02 2009

Sorry it has been a while all. The long and short of it is work is super busy and my computer officially died SO I can’t blog from home right now.

Boo whined about this last night. See, I am supposed to bring the computer into the apple store. This way they can tell me what ELSE went wrong and how much it is going to cost to fix. WHICH, btw, I refuse to pay since the dumb thing is just at its end anyway. Its time for a new computer. Well, I looked at him last night after saying, maybe this weekend, and realized – he has his own laptop. At home. Collecting dust. I mentinoed this and his eyes lit up. So, Im spared having to dea with my computer for another week.

There was an interesting event last night though, which is what I had to take a few minutes to share.

We were watching tv in our respective spots (meaning I was in bed reading and he was on the couch watching TV and making fun of me for not being able to hack it at night… Im so worn out at the end of the day). The windows were open to let in the cool winter breeze (HA! Yea you hate me) and we heard voices outside. Normally this isn’t cause for concern or interest since we ALWAYS hear people outside. Voices sometimes travel up to half a block away so we hear people on my street often. I don’t know why. At least we hear them if they are loud. The ones we haer normally are the building neighboring my apartment building – a small house we like to call the Shit House. (Why you ask? Because for SOME REASON every dog in the neighborhood refuses to shit ANYWHERE but these people’s front lawn. I would feel bad except for the fact that they are always leaving bulk garbage in their front lawn and they don’t call the pick-up so WE wind up having to – we being the neigborhood – and I haerd the man was really mean. So everyone has their dog shit on his lawn. Karmas a bitch, no?) Anyway, we could tell this was a bit farther than the Shit House cause it was kinda muffled and ignored it.

Then the voice got loud and we realized there was a real fight going on. Being busybodies Boo immediately turned off the volume and we strained to hear. We couldn’t and suddenly the yelling stopped so we resumed our activities. Within 5 minutes…

5 or 6 gun shots were fired. WOOOO! Bang Bang Bang Bang Bang. I mean gangsta style. My immediate reaction was “Do I call the cops!” Alex said no, just wait and in less than a minute cops were already on their way. I live iwthin blocks of the police precinct and you could hear them speeding down the street. I mean honestly, who throws heat 5 blocks away the GPD (glendale police department) who normally have nothing better to do than hand out parking tickets and moving violations. Shit, I’d be afraid to “eat doritos” in my apartment with open windows if I wasn’t in Cali – which btw, is voting to potentially make doritos 100% legal within the next 2 years. Yea. Its a hard knock life here in Glendale).

WELL of course alex is trying to hear whats up and I was running from the bed to the window like an over excited puppy going

“holy crap we can never walk the dog again”
“shut up fred, you’re not going out, shit on the floor from now on”
“hostage situation! hostage situation!”
“dude, someone lost a bet and couldn’t pay up”
“yo, its total hostage situation they’re using the blowhorn”

This is when boo started cracking up and told me to shut it and corrected me,

“you mean bullhorn. “

Minus 1 for lack of dexterity. (I also have a tendency to pronounce in-va-lids as in-valid which he thinks is a hoot. I don’t do that on purpose, I just pronouce what I see!).

After that we played with the dog a bit, I commented on how I’d have to pack heat when I walk the dog now and we went off to bed.

We’re we scared? Well I was AT FIRST but then the excitement took over. Which may be kinda horrible to say since, well, someone got shot. But it was hard not to get amped up when the cops started talking through the BULLhorn and all hell was breaking lose and the dog and I are running everywhere like the retards we are.  BUT I live on the third floor of a well secured building and the reality is Glendale is the 13th safest city in Cali or something along those lines. What happened was a freak occurance.

 

But i’ll still be packin heat next time I walk the dog. Can’t be too careful in my hood. Represent.

Actions

Information

36 responses

26 02 2009
lara21167

Good lord Rowdy, exciting yes but scary as hell!! I get scared walking my dog in the wee hours of the morning or late at night. You probably won’t see anything on the news. That’s always the way it is. But if you do find out what exactly happened let us know. We get the occational weirdo in our apartment complex, but my hubby is kind of scary looking in a redneck sort of way, lol. And I keep to myself except saying hi to people.

26 02 2009
Clo

Ha, Rowdy… My friend moved into this really nice apartment. Perfect for her, and she couldn’t figure out why it was so cheap… Then nighttime came… And the hood rats, drug dealers, prostitutes… She used to tell us “tales of the hood” all the time till someone got murdered across the street. Then she moved.

We came home from vacay to find my sister had cleaned the whole apartment. Super nice. Only when doing so, our vacuum had an overload, and – no pun intended – bit the dust. So we had to get a new vacuum today (good thing we paid off all the credit cards) Anyway, I talked hubby into getting a dyson. It’s uber expensive but I love them (our neighbor has one that we’ve borrowed for deep cleanings, and the lady I was a nanny for has one.) Which, is saying a lot, because by far I HATE vacuuming. It was on “sale” for 399, but then they were also giving you a 75 dollar gift card with it. We’ve pretty much maxed out the target card again. But, hey, it earned us a 20% off shopping day (I think it’s 20%, I kinda forget, it might be 10% whatever) And it’s a great vacuum. Plus it kinda “folds” down into a smaller size, which helps us with space issues. Anyway I’m just really excited about it, I’m about to go vacuum. Oh, and Jeremy got two job offers, so we should be OK 🙂

27 02 2009
lara21167

I love nice vaccums, but I hate spending money on them haha. Mine is about falling apart, but it still works, so I’ll keep it going till it “bites the dust” lol. And Congrats on the hubby getting job offers. I know sooo many people in my area losing jobs, manufacturing jobs. So many plants are closing down. One place is closing in our area because they can’t reach an agreement with the union. That is sooo ridiculas, how is the union helping anyone if the damn company is just closing their location. Idk, it is bad around here.

27 02 2009
lara21167

Ya’ll read Bedroom blog yet? Do you think they getting ready to end it. It sure sounds that way. Damn I’ll miss that blog. We’ll be stuck with just good ol’ Joe Hottie!!

28 02 2009
janey

Hey guys. Sorry i havent been around much. Its been really crazy here. Im basically just tryin to get myself organized nd my mom is sick so ive been running errands for her and takin care of her…

Rowdy- great post. U always make me laugh.

28 02 2009
Clo

Laura, I’m not sure if they’ll end it. I wouldn’t be surprised if they did, but people do really like it, so I’m sure they’ll at the very least replace it with something. On the other hand I could also see this developing into a HUGE scandal and then maybe K getting offered a job to also blog? Who knows.

Janey- you excited for your date?

I have that stupid Beyonce song stuck in my head. I’m not really a Beyonce fan. I like a few of her songs (I feel this way about some other singers, like Madonna for instance.) but mainly she gets on my nerves. So now all I hear in my head is “a diva is the female version of the hustla” and I’m like GAAAAH SHUT UP!

28 02 2009
janey

clo- lol. i love beyonce but i feel like she is losing her touch with all these bullshit songs she’s comin out with. nd they basically all about being single which makes me wonder if she’s leaving jay-z….

and yes im excited. we have a change of plans. my friend jasmine is having a surprise party for her best friend Linda and he agreed to go with me. so im goin to the mall to get a new outfit around two cause the party is at 4

1 03 2009
Clo

I doubt she’s leaving Jay-Z, I mean people come out with songs all the time about things when they’re happily married. It’s just about being able to make songs that people can relate too so they can make money.

Supposidly Rhianna and Chris Brown are back together. Funny. Not really, it’s actually really sad. I’m not a Rhianna fan (as in her music, again, like Beyonce, there’s a few songs that I like) I’d think rehab was about chris Brown but Justin Timberlake wrote it.

1 03 2009
lara21167

Braggin rights time!! My daughter’s cheer team got 1st place yesterday and a bid to Nationals in Virginia Beach. dance also got 1st place. The Senior level 2 got 1st and level 4 got 3rd place. Our tinies that are 4 and 5 year olds got 4th place, even beating out another team and all they did was stand there and look cute. They totally forgot their routine lol.

So Janey was your date last night? How’d it go?

1 03 2009
janey

lara- my date was awesome!
we ended up going to the movis anyways then we went to two parties.
it was soooo much fun. i actually just got ff the phone with him nd we r doin dinner on friday night.
and congrats to your daughter’s dance and cheer team!
i saw the pics, they were sooo cute

1 03 2009
Witchypoo

Yup, Lara, your little girl’s cheer pictures are adorable; congrats on the win!

Janey…so glad that you had a lot of fun on your date. So, spill, girl…do you feel that “spark” that Hottie’s blog is always referring to? Hope so – that’s the best part of dating. What kind of place are you going to have dinner at? What’s this guy look like? Personality? Yeah…20 questions, hahaha.

We’re going to be standing out in the rain, wind, and cold all day for a double-header, (two practice baseball games); Chance will pitch a couple of innings. Yesterday Beau had his opening season lacrosse banquet/parent meeting. All the different age groups, (3rd grade – high school seniors), were there, with parents. The high school head coach and “founder” of the lacrosse leauge in our area might be inviting Beau to join the high school varsity team, (as opposed to the 9th grade jr. varsity team that freshman usually play for). It would be pretty cool for Beau; we got an email from the leauge president on Friday saying that he wanted to nominate Beau for Washington’s all-star national team, if his birthday was within a certain block of time. Beau just missed the cut-off by a few weeks…it would have been a great opportunity for him. I don’t know if there is an all-star state team for 15 and over, (as opposed to 15 and under, which is what this team is). Anyway, Beau is excited for lacrosse to start.

Take care.

2 03 2009
lara21167

Glad you had a great time Janey. Sounds like he may be a keeper.

Witchy that’s great about Beau, must be very exciting for him. Even if he is too old for the All Star Nationals, it’s great to be considered.

3 03 2009
Clo

Janey- I’m glad your date went well. I miss the whole first date butterflies and stuff. But I love my husband soooo…

Witchy- That’s exciting about your son. Both yours and Laura’s children sound so talented, I’m jealous, lol. I know Cayden is only 5 months, so he doesn’t really do much other than drool on his hands, but I have a hard time picturing him doing much of anything. I mean, I know eventually he’ll grow up, I just can’t see it. Kinda like a couple months ago I couldn’t picture him doing the things he’s doing now (like rolling over, trying to sit up, eating food) so it’s hard for me to even think of him walking and talking, let alone being awesome at all the things your guys’ kids are awesome at. I know it will come, but I just can’t see it.
Laura- congrats on your daughter! I really need to go check out the pictures but I’ve been so lazy lately. I really thought for a minute that I was pregnant… I’ve been so freaking tired, my period isn’t here, I’m emotional as hell. But I took two test and both are negative. We’ve only had one oopsie, and so I’m sure that it’s just out of whack but I still can’t figure out why I’m so freaking sleepy and moody. I dunno. With Cayden I got a few negatives, I think cause I tested too early, so I’ll wait a month and if I still don’t have it, I’ll test again I guess. I wish I could just go to the gyno which I was supposed to do, and get a blood test, but with Jeremy not working we lost our insurance. He starts his job on the 9th and we’ll have it back. I’m just really hoping I’m not pregnant. I want another baby but right now is not a good time.

3 03 2009
lara21167

Do you have a clinic or something that you can get tested for free, Cloey? I know with Richie, my son, of course this was nearly 18 years ago. I took a home pregnancy test and tested negative. So I went to a Christmas party with my then hubby, got drunk and danced my ass off and here I was pregnant. Never trusted those tests since lol. In case you haven’t checked in on Bedroom Blog, Christie the senior editor at Cosmo posted a comment that Bedroom Blog is here to stay. Everyone was really freaking out 🙂

3 03 2009
lara21167

Guess what??? I managed to put a video on my myspace of my daughters dance team. One of the girls had it and I put it on my profile, so check it out. Kristy is the tallest and skinnest on the floor. I’m finally figuring this myspace thing out. I am sooo proud of myself.

3 03 2009
Clo

Well they say if you get a negative and turn out later to be pregnant it’s probably that you tested too early. I know a lot of pregnancy tests say you CAN test either a week before your period is due, or the day of your missed period, but some of them you need to wait for. Like I said with Cayden I tested a couple days before my period was due, because I had some other symptoms (my nipples were soooo sore, which is NOT a sign of a period coming for me.) and it gave me a negative result. So I tested again a week or two later and got my positive. I do have some signs that I could be pregnant, mainly being tired despite sleeping a lot (Jeremy’s been taking the baby a lot, so I’ve gotten to sleep all night AND sleep in) and emotional. But my boobs aren’t sore, so I’m thinking I’m just late. I’m cramping a little today so I expect it’ll hit any time now. There are clinics I could go too, but the free ones don’t do blood tests, they just do pee tests and I’ve taken two and gotten negatives. We’ll have insurance back a month after Jeremy starts work, and I’m due for a pap, so if there’s still nothing by then I’ll just have my gyno checked. I mean I got four periods in a row, in less than 2 months, so my body is really out of whack. If it weren’t for that one whoops that we had, I really wouldn’t think anything of it. I’ll have to check out the video soon. I looked at your pics last night and the girls are soooo cute.

4 03 2009
Clo

Got my period, so it’s all good. However, I also got into it with my Mom, and I have a feeling this one is going to be pretty serious. Here’s the vent, and other mom’s, feel free to tell me how you feel about the situation:

My Mom calls today, says my brother and sister are bored, we should come over and hang out. I didn’t really want to go, but said I’d talk to Jeremy and see what he wanted to do. Well, Jeremy really loves to hang out with my brother, and since my brother started working, hasn’t really gotten a chance too. So he wanted to go. OK, we’ll go, I’m not really doing anything at home other than reading my book (Water For Elephants. Really good book, I suggest it. And Rowdy what were the books you suggested I read? I wrote it down but lost the paper) Anyway, I call her back, she says “Good, I get to see Cayden then” And I’m like, OK, so that’s why you wanted us to come over. But whatever. I told her “It’s bath night though, so do you want to give him his bath there?” and she said yes. So I pack an extra outfit and we head over. We get there and she’s like let me lay down for 45 minutes and then I’ll give him his bath. I say OK. So then she gets up and she’s like “I’m not giving him a bath. I don’t think it’s a good idea, giving him his bath and then taking him home in the cold.” and I was like… “Well, we’ll be here for awhile, so he’ll have a chance to dry off.” And she just kinda walked away. So then a little while later I mention a bath again. And how I’m going to give him a bath. And she goes in to the bathroom to take her bath (which, I don’t know if it was to block me from the tub, or if it was just a coincidence.) So then I say I’m going to give him a bath in the sink. So then she comes out and watches me give him a bath (not taking her bath) And when I pull him out she’s like “Awww baby they put you in the cold air.” Now a.) it wasn’t that cold. and b.) YES, the house is colder in the winter, and it’s a little bit colder when I get him out of the bath. What am I supposed to do then? Not give him a bath in the winter? So she takes him from me and gets him dressed and all that. Then we play with him for a little bit, and put him down for bed. She comes out and says “At the risk of pissing you off that baby needs to be at home and in bed.”

What. The. Fuck. I could understand if we were at a bar or someplace noisy or even if we were at a friends house with no place to lay him down, or if he wasn’t used to sleeping there. He sleeps at my mom’s house at LEAST once a week. He has a bed there, clothes, a blanket. It’s like his second home. Jeremy was just over there with him till 1 AM 4 weeks ago and she didn’t have ANYTHING to say then. I mean maybe she was tired and just wanted us to leave, but she has asked us to leave before and has NEVER worded it like that. And it DID piss me off.

My Mom is CONSTANTLY giving me baby advice, telling me what to do, what not to do, and even on occasion trying to take him from me when he was crying and I was handling it. I get it. She’s my Mom, his Grandma, she’s just trying to help. And that I can deal with. However, it’s when she doesn’t follow what I say needs to happen. Like when we started him on foods, I told her, one new food at a time, veggies first. There’s a reason for this. One, one new food at a time is so we see if there’s an allergic reaction, and so we know what food it’s too. Once he’s had a food a couple times, we can start a new food and keep giving him the old food. We give him veggies first because the pedi told us too. She said kids often take too veggies better if they’re given them first an exclusively. She said to start with the blander veggies first (peas and green beans) because of course, ask a kid, would you rather eat peas, or apples, and guess which one the kid is going to pick?

So I come over the day after this to pick Cayden up, and my Mom goes “I have a confession. I gave him applesauce. I know you said not too, but he liked it and he hated the green beans.”

Um. OK. One) it’s wrong cause I told her NOT to do this. Two) He could have had a reaction, and we wouldn’t have known what it was too. Three) What if she hadn’t told me, and he had a reaction, and we assumed it was the green beans? Four) So when he’s older and decides he likes playing with knives better than toy cars, will you let him do that? I mean I know that’s a little serious, but… I have a weight problem. Jeremy, has a weight problem. We do NOT want Cayden to have a weight problem. Which means he needs to eat good foods. The number one veggies that toddlers eat? French fries. No joke. So, it’s more realistic that when he gets older and doesn’t want to eat his veggies but wants desert, you’re going to let him have it, because he likes it better?

So we leave. And she calls me. To “apologize” (my Mom does this. she calls to apologize, but it’s really to say that she’s “sorry” she’s right. No joke.) And I tell her that I’m angry, and why I’m angry. And she says we just disagree. Which is fine. Because we don’t always have to agree. But I grew up hearing “when you’re the mom, you can call the shots” Well, guess what? I’m the Mom. And so I told her, if she thinks he shouldn’t be out late, then I guess we just won’t come over on weeknights. Which we don’t do very often anyway, but then she gets upset and say that I’m trying to punish her. And then she got upset and said she needed to get off the phone. So we did.

So I wrote her an email, and I basically said (in longer form, and a little gentler, but still firm.) That if she couldn’t respect my wishes and what I wanted, then she couldn’t be around Cayden. And it’s not a punishment, or a threat, but it’s how it is. I get that she has advice, and sometimes I do need it. But sometimes I don’t. And I think I should be able to say this is the rule, and trust that she’ll follow it.

I don’t know. I’m just upset, because I feel like my parenting skills aren’t being trusted. And don’t get me wrong, I KNOW, I’m young, I’m a new parent, I don’t know it all, and sometimes I do need help. But sometimes I do know what I’m doing, and I feel underminded a lot. And I feel insulted when my mom insinuates that I would do something that may harm my child (like taking him out in the cold with a wet head.)

And it also makes me mad that she hears things that we do today and scoffs like “I didn’t do that when I was raising you, and you guys turned out fine.” Which, I get. And we did. But they know different things now. And I just want to do what’s best for Cayden, and some of the things they did back in the day, while thought to be best then, we know differently now.

Anyway, sorry for the long rant, I’m just upset and wondering if you all thought I was wrong.

4 03 2009
lara21167

No Cloey you are not wrong. Cayden is your child and should be raised the way you and Jeremy see fit. It’s kind of funny because I see this same type thing going on with my niece, that’s not really my niece, the one who just had her second baby. Anyhoo, Lisa is young like 19 or 20 but she is trying to raise her babies properly on most points. She actually got yelled at by the people at WIC because of what she, more like what my MIL, fed her 2 year old. My MIL has McDonalds all the time and she’ll give Brian Mcnuggets and fries and soda. Well the lady at WIC gave Lisa guidlines on what to feed him, sunday we were all at my MIL and my MIL sent my hubby to McDonalds, and poor Lisa, she asks my MIL if it’s alright if she fixes Brian something else. My MIL said yes. So Lisa made him grilled cheese sandwhich and some strawberries. Which he did eat about 1/2 his sandwhich. Then I took Lisa to the store for Cigarettes and we came back, Brian was sitting on the couch eating French Fries. Lisa didn’t say anything, but I noticed how wrong that was. And then anytime Lisa tries to punish Brian he runs to his “Meme” and she picks him up and comforts him, totally undermining Lisa. So yes Cloey I can see where you are coming from and I suggest you just hold your ground. When your mother has him, she will give him food or do things you don’t approve of and some of that is just expected. Grandmothers are just that way. They were strick as mothers but as Grandmothers it’s spoil, spoil, spoil.

4 03 2009
lara21167

One more thing Cloey, something you have to look forward to. When kids get older and spend the night or so with Grandma, they come home acting like little helluns. My friend calls it Grandma Syndrom. Don’t know why that is I guess like i said Grandmas just tend to spoil them. I guess the best advise I can give is to pick your fights. If it’s something not really worth fighting about, let it go. But something like the applesauce, because the reason for giving the veggies first is so they will develop a taste for them. Giving something that taste much better like applesauce will ruin that. Regarding the way your mom acted the other night, sounds like she was just in a picky mood or something. Doesn’t sound like anything you did would have been right.

4 03 2009
Witchypoo

Yeah, Cloey, Lara said pretty much what I was thinking, also. Although, I have a feeling she is slightly more flexible than me when it comes to a mother or mother-in-law, (anyone, really), interfering with the parenting of our children. I don’t respond well to anyone overstepping bounds and undermining what Jerry and I have determined is right for our kids. I try not to get worked up over really small things, but there have been situations where we’ve had to be pretty assertive about our expectations. You are the Mom; you get to determine what’s right with Cayden. Most mothers/mother-in-laws/whoever else will eventually accept this fact and cooperate if they want to have contact with your son. Being consistent and firm about your wishes is the best way to make people realize you are serious.

Take care.

4 03 2009
monkeyspeaks

Before I finish reading the comments and replying (I know been forever huh): Clo – You are reading one of my all time favorite books!!! Myspace me where you are and i’ll totally gush about it w/ you!

4 03 2009
monkeyspeaks

CLO I was suggesting you read Jen Lancaster – She has three memoirs out in this order: bitter is the new black , bright lights, big ass, and Such a pretty fat: or why pie is not the answer

She is super funny, sarcastic, bitter but in a funny way. She just has this amazing writing style and I adore her relationship with her husband. Her marriage is the kind I want! Where you can totally be snarky and joke around like best buddies but at the end of the day you KNOW you are super in love. It’s KIND of what I have with Boo but I am still a bit sensitive in some areas and I’m so scared of hurting HIS feelings iwth a good retort that I hold back. So it usually just winds up being him picking on me and me getting all mopey. Ex

Him: “Hey Unny, you’re really not that bad from the back”
Me: “Yea, gee, thanks”
Him: “Cmon! I mean you’re not fat fat, you just need to lose a few lbs right”
Me” HMMMPHHH, leave me alone.”
Him: “AWWWW UNNYYYYY CMERE”
Me: NO!

What I WISH I could say was

Him: “Cmon! I mean you’re not fat fat, you just need to lose a few lbs right”
Me: “Right, Unny, tell me, Is it still a beer belly, even if it’s formed via cupcakes and not beer?”
Him: “OHHH you’re gonna get it”
Me: “EEECK! FRED HELP ME!!!”
This is where fred attacks me vs helping me because him and boo have bonded a bit too much.

(Before anyone hates Boo for his statements please know he has talked to me about losing weight and here is his reasoning for me needing it: “You used to be super confident and now you’re so self conscious and it reflects in a lot – even how you walk – and I know if you got to where you want to be you’d be more confident and happier, thats all. It has nothing to do with my attraction to you.” SO I let him slide most of the time).

CLO – have you checked out postcardsfromyomomma.com lately? There is one on there that reminds me of what you are giong through. With your mom I mean. Have you ever read toxic parents? Its one of those “self help’ books but it is really good. My therapist had me read it when I was in more intensive treatment. It talks about different types of “toxic” parenting and how to deal with it. It may give you good tips on how to deal with your mom. Like one story in it is about a Guy who wanted to take his wife skiing for christmas but his mom threw this massive guilt trip and included his siblings into it. They called him everyday telling him he was killing their mother and it ruined his trip so badly they cut it short and he had a horrible xmas. Why? Because his mom couldnt stand to not spend the season with him so she made him feel horrible until he made everyone around HIM feel like crap. Im not saying YOU are doing that at all. Im just saying it was an example in the book and it then gave the psyche behind the family’s actions and how to handle it. It may help? My parents did that to me once too. They wanted me to stay home for a holiday and I wanted to go to my schools national championship game. I mean we got into a MASSIVE fight. I don’t practice their religion, even if I was raised in it. I get that for them its a “being iwth family thing” but this was a once in a lifetime opportunity for me and I muissed it because they made me feel so guilty. I regretted not going. The next year I had something similar happen and I had read the book by then and laerned I needed to do what was right by me so I put my foot down and wuoldn’t even ARGUE with them. I was like this is how it is, im sorry i fyou dont agree but this is my life and im the adult now. Period. Im not asking for your permission on the subject, im letting you know out of courtesy.

Maybe that woul dhelp? I know easier said than done.

And congrats to everyone’s children and to janey for the good date.

4 03 2009
Clo

Rowdy- I finished the book. Couldn’t put it down really. I had to finally the other night to go to sleep and I dreamed I was in the circus.

As far as my Mom, I sent her an email (because I feel we communicate better in writing. We don’t cut each other off, hang up on each other, ect.) And just let her know, that it wasn’t a punishment, threat, or anything like that, but if she couldn’t respect mine and Jeremy’s parenting choices then she wouldn’t be around. And that was her choice. She doesn’t have to agree with me, but I am a Mom now. And it’s my job to raise my son as I see fit. I still need her advice from time to time, but I don’t ALWAYS need it. She’s still mad, but we’re not yelling, so I’m like, whatever. Go pout. It’s no skin off my teeth.

Jeremy surprised me with the Rent Live On Broadway DvD. So I’m watching it now. It’s one of my favorite musicals (that and Once On This Island.) We’re going to see the Pittsburgh show since they’re closing it down. I’m wicked excited.

5 03 2009
lara211167

Tip to all of us parents. Know when it is time to “let go” (We have years to adjust to this lol) Don’t feel bad when your children want to spend special occasions with friends instead of family. Just know they still love their moms!! And Dads of course. As a mom of a child who is becoming an adult, I know I have to let go. Of course with my son I’ve already been through all the feel bad feelings since he “left me” at 10 years old!! His problem is I’m not the one pressureing him his father is. His father wants him to move in with him when he graduates (like that worked out before) and Richie just wants to do his own thing. hell he is pretty much doing his own thing now. He told me he spends more time staying at his friends house than he does at his Grandmothers. But as I was saying we just need to know when to let go. And not be hurt.

5 03 2009
lara211167

And Cloey, glad you and your mother are at least communicating. Like you said she’s just pouting right now. She’ll get over it and realize you are a responsible adult capable of taking care of your child.

5 03 2009
janey

hey guys.
sorry i havent been around much.
there are a lot of things going on
most not neccesarily good.
but they are working themselves out. hopefully.

i think Witchy asked about how i felt after the date.
it ws good. i def felt a connection to him and we had a nice time.
im sea food lover so we are goin to red lobster tomorrow and then we might stop at rock-n-bowl. i cant seem to find my camera. i wanna take pics =[
my phone wont let me upload my pics to myspace

5 03 2009
Clo

Janey- I’m with you in the lost camera club. I’m bummed cause while I can upload pics from my phone, they’re usually crappy. Plus, my camera on my phone is so slow, so it takes a second to take the pic, and by the time it does, usually Cayden’s not doing what he was doing. I’m headed out for lunch AND dinner with my in laws. Wish me luck.

5 03 2009
janey

clo- good luck.
dont forget to tell u wht crazy things they say/do this time!

6 03 2009
lara211167

Cloey, I always look forward to your visits with your in-laws lol.

6 03 2009
lara211167

I’m finally kind of understanding this Cheerleading stuff lol. We usually go to Ocean City Maryland for what is called “Reach the Beach” which is a “nationals” but you don’t need a bid to go. Now where we are going and all of our teams got bids is US Nationals and their is like 4 or 5 places around the Country that have it. We are going to Virginia Beach, Virginia. The other places are Ohio (not sure where) and Las Vegas (that would be fun lol) Not sure where the other 1 or 2 is. Anyhoo our organization works solely off of fundraisers. We pay $50 a year and buy shoes and that’s about it. Most Cheer organization charge monthly dues, make parents pay for uniforms and even charge mat fees. As per ususal we have a problem getting parents to participate in the fundraising. Especially the Bingo we work. I may have mentioned every Saturday night a local Fire Company has a Bingo. We have 6 parents work it, selling tip jars ect and our organization gets $50/parent for working. So the problem is that the same parents have to work it all the time. We have over 50 girls total now. So what I’m getting at is does anyone have any suggestions on how to make these parents do their share. I mean we have parent meeting once a month, but the parents that come to the meetings do the fundraising. I was thinking about just simply if they don’t want to fundraise then they have to pay monthly dues. But even that is hard to enforce, because when the parents don’t do their part, who suffers, the children. And alot of the older girls would probably be running the streets getting into trouble if they didn’t have cheerleading. Anyone have any suggestions??

8 03 2009
janey

where is everyone?

8 03 2009
Witchypoo

Damn! I just wrote a bunch and lost it; apparently, I didn’t notice that I needed to resubmit my name, email, etc. on this site, (it hasn’t done that for a couple of weeks…I don’t know why it’s asking for it again). Grrrr…

How’s everyone? I’ll write again later. Take care, Girls.

9 03 2009
lara211167

Good Morning everyone!! Janey how did date #2 go? Cloey waiting to hear how dinner with the in laws was!! Witchy I do that sometimes too. Write a whole bunch and either forget to put in my info, or put it in wrong lol

10 03 2009
lara21167

Ok, Witchy I know it’s not just you, I am pretty sure I posted something yesterday and it’s not there. So again how is everyone? Cloey how was your dinner with the inlaws and Janey how was your date. Yea, that’s what I wrote lol

10 03 2009
Clo

It was actually really good. They were super well behaved, they do this from time to time.

Sorry I haven’t been around. Jeremy just started his job yesterday, and I’m super frustrated with some things… One, we’re not getting insurance through Jeremy’s job and that really pisses me off and makes me wish he took the other job. He gets insurance but says it’s way too expensive, so he’s not going to take it. So now we have to take Cayden to a clinic for his shots… Which pisses me off, because I didn’t want to do that. I mean if he had told me sooner we could go on wic and get Cayden insurance at least, but he didn’t, and now we’re out of time, and I don’t even know if Cayden’s pedi will accept that kind of insurance so we may lose them too, and I’m just pissed.

Then, I don’t know what Cayden’s issue is, but lately he’s been sleeping horribly, and I’m about to go insane. We’re trying to get him to sleep in his room, in his crib, because he’s getting too big for the bassinet. But it takes forever to get him to fall asleep in there, and then he’s up screaming like every hour. Last night when he got up at 3, I brought him into our room, which I usually do (I’m too tired at that point. I figure he’ll eventually get used to falling asleep in his crib and therefore sleep longer and I won’t be getting up as much and then we’ll just leave him in there.) And he slept about an hour in his bassinet and then started freaking out. So I finally brought him into our bed with us, which means I don’t sleep as well (I feel like i have to hold him in one arm in order to make myself aware that he’s there. And I either have to sleep on my side or back, and I sleep horribly on my back and just OK on my side… And then the elbow that he lays on is my bad one so I wake up super sore…) Usually HE at least sleeps, and I sleep better than him crying every five minutes, but last night he was just fussy and so I got like zero sleep. I can’t do much more of this.

10 03 2009
monkeyspeaks

Hey guys – Sorry I dont know what is going on w/ the site.

Clo – Uhmm that seems a bit bogus – Jeremy forgoing the insurance?? Does he realize its WAY more dangerous to not have it than to budget a bit tigheter to have it? I mean i understand, its not easy… but here is the thing – you go to the hospital JUST ONCE without insurance and you’re bankrupt. Caput. and with a child? Its just not a smart move. BUt thats MY opinion. I can barely afford my own insurance but id rather go to a cheaper market for groceries each week and save there so I can be safe. And i get the lowest teir of insurance.

As for cayden? Im guessing he’s going threw a growth spurt. Im not a mom but I always hear when you are weening them its best to just let them cry it out (like weening him outo f sleeping in bed with you). IM just nervous for you with the mentality “well he’ll do it eventually” but im wondering, if he realizes all he has to do is scream and he gets to sleep where he wants he’ll pick up a bad habit and never leave your bed. I dunno though, Im not a mom.

SO Boo and I are getting a bit frustrated. OK well hes not but I am. Probably because im dealing w; the bulk of it all but we decidefd to adopt a dog together. we’ve put in our appliactions for a few places since we plan on rescuing and we get the response back and either the dog is already adopted OR they dont want to adopt to us because we aren’t 100% local (nocal vs socal). NOW we find a dog we think we might like and the foster mom is a bit hesitant. Hes destructive (er, hes six months old, of course he is), hes hyper (didn’t we already tell you that we go to the dog park regularly and walk them multiple times a day and believe in cage training and boo takes them to work during the day and IVE RAISED A BC BEFORE so I know!) and its like everytime i counter her negative reasons she comes up with another. I get that she wants to make sure its the right HOME for her foster baby but seriously – let us MEET you and MEET the dog and then we can go over the pros and cons together. Its like she’s trying to discourage us considering the dog. I do understand her side but i HOpe she lightens up. We’re not going to freak if this isn’t a good match but we want to at least find out.

Boo is a bit nervous too. I mentioned that Rupert, the potential adoptee, is going into his destructive phase and boo was like THAT SCARES ME. OK buddy. I know you LOVE fred because he’s the chillest dog in the world now, but he used to be the WORST dog in the world. I mean friends of mine hated him. He’d climb onto your shoulders (he weighs 40-50lbs), he’d jump on you, he chewed EVERYTHING in site, he used to herd me. Lots of different issues. Potty training, barking, he was abused so he had nervous anxiety with new males (human males). A laundry list of issues. BUT we worked hard, worked through them, and without professional training he can be left alone for HOURS without us being nervous he is going to go tot he bathroom inside or tear anything up.

We’ll see. We’re both aware that Rupert may not be our match but will keep looking. Its just. Tiring. And frustrating. lol.

Leave a Reply

