“I spilled spot remover on my dog. He’s gone now.” – Steven Wright

18 03 2009
 Well, as I mentioned on BB, we finally adopted a new dog. Ape (my new name on here for boo…get it, monkey, ape. haha. im funny) dreamt of adopting a border collie (and by adopt I mean rescue). After weeks of searching and sorting through red tape, Ape met and fell in love with Keeper.
I will admit I was hesitant at first. There was another dog there named Jammer who seemed way more mellow and relaxed. He also got along with Fred and they played their little hearts out. But as I focused on daydreaming about bringing Jammer home, I looked over and there was Ape, knee deep in Border Collie excitment and his newly cleaned white shirt covered in red dust.
I walked over, leaving Fred and Jammer to their own destruction to see if I could bond with Keeper. As the foster mom went to get adoption papers we would have to sign, I laughed with keeper as she used a ball and her nose to push me back, trying to get me to play with her…. and then I screamed out and bit back tears. Keeper accidentally grabbed my thigh instead of the ball. In her defense, and looking back, my thigh probably got in the way, which they often seem to do.  BUT at the time all I coul think of was “I got bit and it HURT.”
Ape took me aside to calm me down and we speculated on the fact that she was toy hyper. I watched her as she ignored Fred and then proceeded to sneer at him when he tried to play. My hesitation grew. But I looked at my dirt covered Ape and watched him plead me silently to give her a chance. The Foster agreed to give us a week trial and I agreed to take it.
The first day was tough. She snapped and we saw we had some training to do. A deal was struck: “If she doesn’t show signs of improvement and obedience to us within the week, she went back and we kept looking.” The Foster home was holding our adoption check until we knew we were keeping her.
Well it is 4 days later and the check is being cashed today. Keeper now knows to drop the toys at our feet if she wants to play and no longer mistakes my thighs for a rubber ball. She and Fred are bonding and while there is minor toy aggression a vet and trainer have assured us with training and time that will go away completely. And of course, coming home to see them curled up together didn’t hurt either.
Now Keeper sleeps between Ape and me. I went from fear to searching for her in my sleep and wrapping around her. Fred has a friend to share the days with and Ape has the border collie he dreamt of.
OH and it also doesn’t hurt that I have been promised a Corgi Puppy in the future
😉
Stats:
Name: Keeper (named after soccer position)
Age: 2.5 yrs
Breed: AKC and US Border Collie Registered Border Collie
Coat: Silky Longhair
Color: Black with white underbelly, white legs w/ black polka dogs, black tail w/ white tip, light coloring around nose, amber eyes
Occupation: Soccer (was a professional soccer dog prior to coming home with us), Fetch, Frisbee, and just looking adorable
Siblings: Adopted brother, Fred, and Primate parents Ape and Monkey
Birth State: Florida
Current Home: On my bed and couch in Glendale.
"Whoever said you can't buy happiness forgot little puppies." - Gene Hill

"Whoever said you can't buy happiness forgot little puppies." - Gene Hill

"I've seen a look in dogs' eyes, a quickly vanishing look of amazed contempt, and I am convinced that basically dogs think humans are nuts." - John Steinbeck

"I've seen a look in dogs' eyes, a quickly vanishing look of amazed contempt, and I am convinced that basically dogs think humans are nuts." - John Steinbeck

"You may have a dog that won't sit up, roll over or even cook breakfast, not because she's too stupid to learn how but because she's too smart to bother." - Rick Horowitz, Chicago Tribune

"You may have a dog that won't sit up, roll over or even cook breakfast, not because she's too stupid to learn how but because she's too smart to bother." - Rick Horowitz, Chicago Tribune

Actions

Information

17 responses

19 03 2009
Clo

Aw Rowdy, I’m glad you’re so happy. It really makes me wish we could have another dog. I’ve always wanted a HUGE dog, and I recently found out that mastiff’s actually are good apartment dogs, as long as you walk them (they tend to get lazy and don’t exercise on their own.) but I know right now that’s just too much for us (3 dogs, 4 cats, AND a baby? Yeah, right.) But it’s Jeremy’s dream to have a mastiff, and mine to have a big one so…

Jeremy also loves St. Bernards (we’d never get one though, too hairy and drooly.) but we used to go pretty frequently to the ASPCA to play with the dogs and walk them (we never officially volunteered, I’m not sure why.) and there was this PERFECT St. Bernard, no idea why his owner gave him up. He was playing in the hallway with this tiny little puppy. I mean his head was bigger than this puppy, that’s how big he was and how small the puppy was. But he just played so perfectly, and he totally knew the size of the dog. He never even stood up while playing with him, like he knew that much force would be dangerous. It was adorable, and to this day I KNOW we would have adopted him had we had the money, despite the 2 other dogs and 4 cats (we didn’t have the baby at the time.)

I hope you have fun! Tater had major toy aggression when we first got Louie, and now she’s good. She’s sometimes iffy around new dogs but most of the time she plays nicely.

19 03 2009
lara21167

They look sooo cute together. Also look like they are taking over the place lol!! I had a drunk doggie last night!! My hubby spilled his bottle of Jim Bean on the floor, he went to get something to clean it up and by that time Ginger had lapped up most of it, I was at the doctor at this time. He said she then went nuts, rolling around and howling. He got scared and called the vet who assured him she was just drunk, and would settle down and go to sleep. I got home and she was a bit more hyper than usual, so I took her for a walk (btw, my legs don’t hurt when i go for a leisurely walk, just when I walk for exercise) anyhoo she pulled on the lease most of the way, something I’m trying to break her of. By the time we returned she’d calmed down and was walking like a good dog. She really didn’t go to sleep until around 9:00 which is usual, and she was fine this morning.

21 03 2009
lara21167

Good morning ladies. How is everyone’s weekend starting off? Mine is crazy. I slept till 10, and I needed it lol. Shipped my daughter off with her friend, and my hubby went fishing. so I thought I’d have some peace and quiet, wrong. The dog decided to tear up a bit a carpet in the corner, for some odd reason and is now running around like a nut. I sure wish I had a house with a fensed yard. We know where she’d be lol. I’m going to get dressed and take for a walk. That should calm her down.

21 03 2009
Clo

I slept till 10 too but needed longer. We went to the zoo, and the animals were crazy active, I love it. The grizzlies were playing with each other, “fighting” standing up on their hind legs. One put his nose right up to the glass. It seemed only the animals who are not normally active were active, like the tiger (also right by the glass) the lion (we heard it roar and boof), the rhino was chasing around a goose (totally funny) but the apes weren’t very active like they normally are, and neither were some other animals who are normally playful.

Cayden’s getting some of his pictures on Monday. I’m super excited cuz they’re being done by a “real” photographer (as opposed to studio) We’re still getting his studio ones done, but I saw an ad on craigslist that this photographer needed baby models, so I submitted his picture just on a whim, and he was chosen! So I’m SUPER excited for that. I’ll get a passowrd on the website to view the pics, so I’ll have to send it to y’all so you can look.

21 03 2009
WItchypoo

Hey, Girls…how’s it going? I know I’ve been MIA recently; Jerry & I are constantly running in every direction to get the spawn where they need to be in a timely manner. Chance’s tournament baseball season has “officially” started as of today, (they’ve been training since early October). Jerry is one of the coaches on the team; tournaments start early on Saturday mornings, with several games per day, and then there’s more games on Sunday. Beau made the high school varsity lacrosse team…he found out this past Monday, after a couple of weeks of tryouts/practice. He’s only in the 9th grade, attending the jr. high…it’s pretty awesome that he was asked to join; now he plays with some guys who are seniors, and 17-18 years old, (also, some sophmores and juniors, too). Last weekend was the last portion of the “tryout”; he was invited to go to the annual lacrosse tournament/season opener. It was in Oregon this year…lots of driving. I had to go down early Saturday am because Chance had pitching practice Friday evening; Jerry helped chaperone the trip, so he went ahead with Beau and the team Friday am, (the players got excused absences from school). It was so cute, and poignant, too, seeing Beau and all the young guys all dressed up in suit jackets, ties, etc….looking uncomfortable and posing for pictures before heading off to Oregon. The weather was typical Pacific Northwest monsoon late winter/early spring: rain dumping with freezing windy gusts. We had fun though…and Heathness & Chancey enjoyed themselves, too. As part of being on varsity, the boys have to tutor young kids in some way; Beau really wants to help coach/mentor a grade school lacrosse team in our area. He’d be really good at it…he emailed the varsity head coach and local founder of our lacrosse to request a position and list his qualifications. We’ll see.

You mentioned sleeping until 10:00 today, Lara. Niiiiiiiii—ce. I was up & getting ready by 6:30 this am; Chancey had 2 baseball games today…I got to see most of the first one, then I had to take off and speed home to grab mini-spawn & big-boy-spawn to go to baby’s martial arts class. From there we raced Go-Beau to his lacrosse meeting, (lunch & review of game film), after which I took Heathness to a couple of stores to let him pick out some treats, (Saturday is junkfood day). By the time I got in the door at home, stuffed an apple fritter and a king-sized pack of Reece’s peanut butter cups into my face, let the dogs out, etc…Go-Beau called to tell me it was about time to come and get him. Wheeeew. So, just as I was getting ready to leave with the baby, Jerry called and asked me to wait for him to get back with Fancy-Chancey so that we could pick up Go-Beau together. So, I waited a few minutes until they got back, then Jerry & I picked up big-boy-spawn, stopped at a store on the way home…and now I’m contemplating a brief nap before we take off for Fry’s, (an electronic/appliance/media store), to look for something Jerry wants to get for his computer. Tomorrow is more baseball, starting in the am.

That’s my weekend, Ladies. Lara, enjoy your free time; Cloey, are you getting any zzzzzzzz lately? Goldie, how’s your cute little girl-doggie doing? Her & Frad’s pictures are adorable. No more thigh-chomping? Ouch. Janey…how’s the new romance? Heating up at all?

Take care.

21 03 2009
WItchypoo

P.S…I think I’ve mentioned before that I have a tendency to make-up and use silly nicknames for my family/friends/acquaintances. They just pop into my head and out my mouth. I don’t know why…

21 03 2009
WItchypoo

Cloey…your comments must have crossed with mine; I didn’t see them until now. I love the zoo – it’s been a long time since I’ve been to one. We were just talking about how Heathness needs to go this year; it’s a perfect age for it, and he’s always asking, (several times per day), “What’s YOUR favorite animal? How about a dinosaur?” Looking forward to seeing Cayden’s pictures.

22 03 2009
janey

hey guys.
srry i havent been around for the past few days.
its been crazy. my nephews mom took him to Puerto Rico and
she doesnt plan on coming back so im trying to figure out when and how im going to see him. i havent spoknt to him in about a week and half and im kinda sad about tht. my sister lives in PR so she went to see him yesturday. i might go see him this summer. i miss SOO—-OOOO much.

Rowdy- ur doggies are ADORABLE.!

Clo- cant wait to see Caydens pix.

Witchy- congrats on your kids bein so good at sports. thst good that they are busy with productive things instead of just sxitting in front of the computer all day lol
and to answer ur question, not really. we’re still just hangin out. might go to a movie tonight.

22 03 2009
lara21167

Witchy I don’t know how you do it!! I can barely keep up with this Cheerleading stuff!! It took me all week to recuperate from the comp last Sunday, it was an early one until late. Then all the damn drama going on. This one local team is snobbing our team for some reason and another local team’s coach had her car egged. Soooo stupid. Our coach tells us to just stay out of it. Which we do except for one of our moms brought a child to comp that was on another team and a parent on that team made a comment to the child about hanging with the enemy or something stupid so our team mom had to have a polite word with that woman. As I said sooooo stupid.

Janey are you talking about Munchkin?? I’m sorry to hear that, is your brother going to be able to do something??

Cloey looking forward to the pics. I forgot the website Kristy’s coach told me to look for pics on our last comp. If I find it I’ll let you all know. I don’t ever order any because they are too expensive. And they are protected so you can’t download any. But they can be viewed.

23 03 2009
janey

lara- yes im talkin about Munchkin.
my brother filed for costuday and
is takin her to court anyways cause she refuses to let him
see his son and is using Munchkins child support money to
take care of her daughter instead of Munchkin because all her no
good husband does is beat her up and get high.

23 03 2009
lara21167

What does her parents think of her taking him. Didn’t he live with them. The poor little guy doesn’t need his whole life disrupted like that.

23 03 2009
janey

her mom and her arent really speaking to each other cause the night before she left they got into a huge argument and my nephews mom hit her.

23 03 2009
lara21167

Great environment for poor munchkin. Hope everything works out. You said your sister lives in Pueto Rico, so she can keep an eye on things? Make sure he’s not being abused?

23 03 2009
janey

yes, she most def will and my dad lives there too
so i know for sure he will be visiting him
often. im going to try to go see him this summer

24 03 2009
lara21167

Well at least you’ll be able to visit him, even though your used to seeing him more often. Got to look at the bright side lol.

24 03 2009
Witchypoo

Janey…I’m sorry your sweet Munchkin has been taken so far away from you. We’ll all send him positive/protective wishes so that he can be watched over. Take care.

25 03 2009
Witchypoo

Ok…my turn: Where IS everybody? Hahaha.

Take care.

Leave a Reply

