All work and no play…

22 05 2009

Does anyone watch Seinfeld? I feel like it can really relate to me right now. Not the fact that their all high-strung and jewish. But, more specifically, George’s answering machine (sung to the tune of “Believe or Not (I’m walking on air)”:

Believe it or not, George, Isn’t at home

Please leave a message at the beep

I must be out or I’d pick up the phone

Where could I be???

Believe it or not I’m not home!

 
That is basically how I’ve felt the past month. Life has been, in short, a hectic crazy mess. I’ve been around as much as I could be, but considering how crazy everything has been I’ve barely had a chance to even keep up with my emails and comments, let alone respond. Let’s recap, shall we?

 

Home:

Ape and I are doing well. We sorted out the mess as best we could with my apartment situation. Fortuantely for us the manager knows the girl (she’s too immature to deem a lady or woman) who lives below me is certifiably insane. Not to mention she doesn’t pay her rent on time. Now we may be a nuisance with the dogs, but the reality is we’re good tenants, always willing to work WITH the manager, rather than fight him, and I ALWAYS pay rent on time (Who knows if its the Jew in me who refuses to pay a 50 dollar late fee or just something instilled on me by my parents. I’ll go with the first though considering I still have to pay my cell phone, elec and water bills. It’s not that I couldn’t, its just time flew by too quickly!! Woops!)

As for house hunting? I wish I had more to report but it’s been disappointment city. Either the area isn’t good, the place is too small, there is no yard, the rent is too high, or, what has driven me the craziest, the homes we fell in love with are dead ends (someone either rented them or we don’t get a return call). Who knew so many people out there were in the market for a liveable 1 to 2 bedroom starter home with a yard. Man! But thankfully, considering the manager has kind of left us alone for the past month, we’re able to keep looking and wait for the right home. Its been a bit of back and forth. I want to widen our search radius and he wants to stay as picky as we’ve been and just keep looking. My mentality is we aren’t BUYING yet, just renting, so we can loosen up with certain needs (mostly location), but he’s been pretty strict with that. Seeing as we still have time, I’m ok with that, but we’re really hoping for a July move in date so we need to get on it. We’ll spend Monday hunting and as soon as we find a place I’ll look into finding a subleaser.

 

We DID have one, but that fell through too. Not because of the person who WANTED to sublease but because of the rules. a) I can’t sublease for a partial lease. It has to be the full remainder of the lease or I have to buy out what is left and lose my deposit. Yea right! The point of the move is to make life easier and save money. Doing that, I would lose close to 3k. No way. No How. b) the subleaser emailed me begging for the apartment (it really is a great studio) and said he was trustworthy and would pay me directly and we wouldnt go through a sublease; but I don’t know this person. My rule of thumb? Don’t trust anyone with anything legally signed under my name unless it is a direct relative. I would have trouble trusting even a distant relative. It’s not that they aren’t trustworthy, but its my name and credit on the line. If something were to not get paid? I’d be screwed. c) AND now not to mention we are definitely NOT going to be out by June 1 so there was no point in even going over that with the kid. He emailed me asking and I never responded. I told him in the last email he needed to keep looking. He had about 3 weeks to do that and he can easily find something for his needs.

 

My parents also came to visit. Nothing to eventful there. Just an amazing weekend with my Mom and Dad. I cried a lot the day before the left and the day they did leave. I never realize how much I miss them until they are with me and then I’m a mess. I’m still learning how to be happy that something happened versus being sad that its over. But that will take time. My dad was even like, maybe we shouldn’t visit you until you’re more used to living so far away. I told him that was silly. I admitted that I used to bawl my eyes out for the first hour when I would drive back to college after visiting. And my parents knew how much I LOVED my school and where I was living at the time so I guess they now understand its just my attachment to them. I can be sublimely happy, but no matter where I am, I want them close by. Im old enough and strong enough to know that can’t always be and I’m completely ok with it. But Im sure i’ll be reverting back to my six-year-old self when leaving my parents, even when I’m in my 40s and 50s. It’s just how I am with them. I don’t think it’s a bad thing either. What’s wrong with loving your parents too much? Absolutely nothing 🙂

The puppy is doing GREAT. She had her first vaccinations yesterday and pooped out a million worms which was SUPER gross. She already took a dewormer and it was tapeworms so we just need to give all the dogs their flea medications asap to prevent it from happening again. If I get out early today like I think I will I get to go meet our new vet, which I would really LOVE to do. It’s hard. Ape has never had a dog like we do now (having to be the one to go to the vet, take care of the meds and vacs, etc) and so he doesn’t always know the questions we need to ask. Its not that hes not competent and its not that I don’t trust him to figure it out, I just have more experience. Like he knew we had to give flea meds but he had no idea that those meds are dependent on the weight of a dog and there is no way we can give to Layla what we give to Keeper and Fred. And he knows to get advantage but he doesn’t know to ask about adcantage OR advantage multi. AND he doesn’t know how to apply it so he doesn’t know to ask the vet how long before the puppy can play with the dogs because she can’t get it on her. And I can tell him to ask but he may or may not remember with everything else that goes on and it’s just easier to do it myself sometimes. Does that make me controlling? I hope not. Im not trying to be. I just like knowing whats up and like having the opportunity to ask for myself. So yea, I hope Im the one who gets to go today lol. Not to mention I want to know the person who is taking care of my dogs!!

She's full of smiles at seven weeks old (when the pic was taken). She is two months old this weekend. How time flies.

She's full of smiles at seven weeks old (when the pic was taken). She is two months old this weekend. How time flies.

OH and did I mention she’s smarter than we are? At five weeks she learned if she pushed her pen out of the kitchen and into the living room she could squeeze under it. She took that as an opportunity to redecorate my apartment with her poop. We figured, OK, no big deal, let’s get something heavy and use it as a weight so she can’t push it forward anymore. So we bought cinder blocks. It worked. For a week….At six weeks she learned how to literally CLIMB out of her pen as if she were climbing a ladder. Again, redecorated the apartment with poop. My little designer. She also ate one of my favorite books. Can’t say she doesn’t have good taste! I found page numbers in her poo that day too. But she is finally old enough to be crated so we’re crate training her now and she’s doing fantastic. No messes in her cage and she knows to go right to her pee pad to go potty. Still working on poop. She gets too excited to go, but we think with the deworming and her new diet we think we’ll have an easier go of it.

Work:

This is where life has been the most intense. For the past two weeks (maybe three?) I’ve been working my crazy butt off. Some days I work normal hours and it’s not AS insane but by the time I get home there is just so much to do.

 

I may or may not have mentioned I was working on a big project for my company. Well not HUGE but I was throwing my first event.  And then on top of it I had to take over someone else’s work until they found a replacement. So I’m doing my normal job, throwing the event and then doing someone else’s work on top of it. And I couldn’t say no to helping with the extra job. I really want a raise and will do anything I need to get it!

Not to mention the pressure that if it went well then we’d go national with the event. It basically had me working 10 hour days (13 hours the day of the event!), but the good news is it went REALLY well and we WILL be going national with it so yay! That went well. It was a major success, a bigger turn out than we expected AND the founder of the company came to the event and declared it a success so we’re happy with that.

 

I thought I’d have time to rest after the event but NOPE. We have to overhaul our art and make sure everything that is up has a release and create an all new playlist. Before I could start working on THAT though (easily a 2-3 week project) I had to quickly clean up one locations server because a Major TV station (not allowed to say) is holding a big event there and it will be documented. That means we had to be 100 percent sure the art on the screens was released to us and we had to make sure it would run without a hitch. Seems easy but its a long and slow process. The system we use runs at a snail pace when I do maintenance on it and there were a ton of little odds and ends I had to do to make sure it went through. I have been at work for minimum 9 hour days with very short lunch breaks (15 minutes and I eat at my desk so I work and eat… normally we’re allowed up to an hour). Last night? I was here till almost 8:30p.m. The last person to leave.  AND this mornign I was the first person in. Thankfully its a half day. I can use it if I make sure my project went through smoothely. If not? I’m stuck here fixing it. BLECH.

 

I wish I could say it was gonna ease up now but I know it isn’t. Perhaps the hours wont be as bad but work will be jsut as busy. I’ll be rehauling all of our playlists starting next week. That means taking all the old art down, reformatting it into a new layout and then basically doing what I’ve been doing the last few days but with hundreds more images and slides. FUN!

 

I will say though, I’ve realized I’ve been super stressed lately, not because I hate what I am doing but because I LIKE it and I actually care about the job I do. Not to mention I’m hoping my crazy hours and dedication earns me that raise! HAHA. I do love my job though. So I got that going for me.

 

I hope I’ll be able to be a bit more attentive soon. See if I can at least keep up with everyone and get my personal affairs back in order. Till then? Its all work and no play. But this Mich is definitely not a dull girl.

 

Till next time!

Actions

Information

45 responses

23 05 2009
Clo

Aw Rowdizzle, I’ve missed you! And you don’t sound controlling about the puppy.

My friend just got two new kittens, and she was telling me about their accomplishments (they just learned how to climb the stairs) and it just so reminded me of a parent with a kid (you’re the same way, “aw my baby is 8 weeks old!”!) Anyway, my point is, I wouldn’t let Jeremy take Cayden to the doctor alone. I mean there are all the points you brought up (like when she told us to feed him food. How much should we start with? How often?) and then there’s the fact that something she says might bring up another question (OK, so we can start food. But what if he gets constipated, should we do apple juice, again, how much, how often?) Jeremy loves Cayden, wants to take care of him, but just doesn’t know what to ask. So I get you there.

She’s so cute by the way! And when we used to get Tater and Louie in different crates, Tater learned how to bust out and then would free Louie. We even bought LOCKS for the cages. She’d still get out. Finally we started crating them together and she quit.

Anyway, I hope things work out with you house wise, and I hope your work slows down soon. We miss you!

24 05 2009
Witchypoo

Hey, Goldie…it’s really good to hear from you. No, you definitely don’t sound controlling; you sound competent. While I’m sure Ape would be able to eventually get things straight with the vet, sometimes it’s just easier to do certain things yourself. Now, if you were a nagging shrew, running every aspect of your lives together and bitching at him all the time about whatever you could think of….THEN you’d be controlling. Now that I think about it, I know a few women like that, (some are in my own extended family). It’s uncomfortable and embarrassing to listen to them talk down to their guys; I feel like telling them to shut the fuck up already. (How’s that for cursing?) Your puppy is adorable, btw. Good luck on the house-hunt; you just might wind up finding something that fits everything you and your guy are looking for. Stranger things have happened.

Cloey, sorry about the vehicle purchase let-down. Are you really bummed about it, still?

I’ll be back later…take care.

24 05 2009
janey

hey guys. Happy Labor Day weekend.

24 05 2009
janey

sorry. memorial day. hehe.
i always get them confused.

24 05 2009
Clo

Thanks Janey- you too.

Witchy, yeah I’m still a little disappointed. I’m mainly over it all though. Jeremy’s been on a kick to find some place to give us a loan, and it’s making me very nervous. Our credit’s not that great to begin with, and then to have a bunch of inquires tends to make it worse. He says that as long as you do it within a two week window it doesn’t hurt it, but I dunno. Plus, now he’s saying we can afford a bigger car payment than he originally said. Which I don’t really believe. Jeremy has a tendency of doing things like this. Example: When he took his new job, yes he asked if he’d have insurance. However, he didn’t ask what KIND of insurance, and didn’t find out it was majorly sucky until he already took the job. Example 2: When he bought our Honda (the car we traded for the hoopty) he bought it off a guy from work. The guy was honest about everything, said the heat didn’t work because the blower thingy didn’t work. Jeremy said “Oh I can fix that, that’s an easy fix” blah blah blah. Then came home and found out it was harder than he thought (I guess he would have had to take off the whole dash to fix it) so he wouldn’t do it. I mean all in all we only paid like 200 dollar for the car (it was a nice car too, his friend ended up letting the rest go in exchange for dog sitting) but the point is, Jeremy tends to say he can do things, or accept things before he really checks things out. So I kinda think that he says we can pay so much, and later I’ll find out he thought we could pay for it but forgot to factor in x payment, or he means we could pay that much if he got a second job, and then he ends up not being able to find a second job. Personally I think we should let it go. Because I was REALLY upset when we test drove that car and I fell in love, only to find out that we couldn’t get it. Only because it was really perfect for us. And I don’t want to do that again, you know? Plus, Jeremy took the day off work (he’s making up the hours today) because the car dealer up here said that while they couldn’t do anything, the other location “definately could” and they could transfer the car we wanted down there. So we drove all the way down there, only to find out they actually couldn’t. And then thing that makes me more mad, is later we found out that we could have just filled out the application online, and not had to go all the way down there. I feel like Jeremy took the day off for nothing. And while it won’t hurt us money wise since he is making it up today, I’d rather have spent the day some other way.

I mean I think we should just wait a little while. Our credit sucks, and on top of that, it doesn’t help at all that Jeremy’s only been at his job for 3 months, and yada yada yada. But, we did find one place who says they could help us. So Jeremy wants to go check it out. I will, but I already told him: One, I’m not test driving anything until they can tell us that they can fiance us. Two, I’m not taking a crazy high payment, and three, I’m not getting something just to have a new car. If we don’t LOVE it, I don’t want it.

How’s everyone else’s weekend going?

25 05 2009
Witchypoo

Hi there, Ladies. Thanks, Janey – the same to you, Sweetie.

Cloey, yeah, you’re saying that you tend to be more of a realist about situations, especially those involving money, right? It’s the details that get you…the afterthoughts that add up to make a given situation great, so-so, or not so good. Your conditions seem like a good outline of what’s acceptable; you spelled it out in black & white, so it would be hard to go wrong if you stick to the plan.

Our weekend has been uneventful, but nice. Though, Friday afternoon was interesting – for Jerry. He has a Chevy shortbed pickup that he only uses for pleasure – ripping around on nice days, etc. He just had a new cam put in it, and it’s really fast, with a lot of tork, (the boys LOVE it, unsurprisingly). Anyhoo, he stores it up at the warehouse for his work, and he was bringing it home on Friday after work; it just stopped running in rush hour traffic. He screwed around with it for a while, trying to get it going again; while doing this, he managed to smash his forehead on the bottom of his driver-side door while sliding out from under the truck, putting a big gash right around the area of his eyebrow. Of course, he refused to have it looked at; it’s a wide cut and probably should have been stitched. Meanwhile, his phone battery was running out, (this hardly ever happens, since unlike me, Jerry keeps his charged); so, we couldn’t get a sentence out to each other before his phone would turn off. Somehow, he got his dad to find him, and he called a towtruck. Jerry finally made it home 3 1/2 hours later. His eyebrow area was all swollen, he was tired and hungry…but glad to be home finally. Then, today when we were on our way to his parents to visit, he was driving Heath in his truck, (he’d replaced the starter and fixed whatever else was acting up), and I was following in my truck with the other two spawn, (just as a precaution in case anything else went wrong with his truck). He stopped to get gas, I pulled up to wait…and his truck wouldn’t start. Again, the starter was the issue. He got Beau and Chance to help him push the truck into a space, we went back home to get the towing chain, (I wasn’t looking forward to towing him and his truck home in busy traffic, but what are you going to do?), and when we got back to hook the vehicles together, his truck started right up. Weird. Anyway, we quickly got his truck back home before something else went wrong, and we went to Jerry’s parents for dinner after all. He thinks the high-performance cam is putting too much pressure on the starter and that whole system; I guess there’s a high-performance starter he can get to install for this problem. So, we’re just hanging out right now, relaxing at home. Long explanation for a short question, hugh?

Take care.

26 05 2009
Witchypoo

Alright…is everyone still zzzzzzzzzz after my desription of weekend activities? Well – WAKE UP!!!…and tell me what you’ve all been up to.

Take care.

26 05 2009
lara21167

Hey everyone, Cloey sorry you didn’t get your loan. Have you tried that place (can’t think of the name) but the commercial has that silly sock puppet? The commerial states they can get anyone a vehicle loan. I have the same problem with credit, I’m tring to rebuild now, not doing so well either lol.

Witchey you sure didn’t bore us with your weekend story. Sounds very interesting, glad everything worked out.

Rowdy, your job sounds so interesting, I’m jealous, lol. And the puppy is adorable. And as everyone else said, you did not sound controlling. I wouldn’t let my hubby take Ginger to the vet without me. And I’ll only let him take Kristy to the doctor for small things, like a recheck on something. And that reminds me, she has a dentist appointment on Thursday, it’s just a cleaning so I’ll see if he can take her to that.

My weekend totally sucked. I’ve been sick since early Saturday morning. I’ve been running a high fever and achy, I don’t think it’s the Swine Flu, because 1st there’s no cases been reported in my area and 2nd the Swine Flu you tend to have a stuffy nose and sore throat and I don’t have either. But I’ve heard alot of people have been getting sick so there’s something going around. The thing that gets me is I haven’t been anywhere to have caught anything. I took Kristy to a carnival on Friday night, but I don’t think I could have picked up anything their and got symptoms that quick, Idk. I called in sick to work today, something I rarely do. But I can’t go in there spreading germs with my big boss still recovering from his brain hemerage. He doesn’t need his wife bringing germs home to him. I’m still debating on calling the doctor, I think it’s just viral and has to run it’s course. And there is no way I’d go to the ER a friend of mine was telling me she was in the ER over the weekend (she has hives real bad and they can’t figure out what has caused them) anyhoo there was a little boy in the ER and the Hazzmat team in full gear came out made the boy get into a suit, said he was suspected of swine flu and had to get out of the waiting room. Uh huh, I’ve seen the movies, they take you away and no one ever hears from you again!! :).

So anyway that’s what’s been going on with me and I’m starting to get cold, so this damn fever is probably coming back yet again…

26 05 2009
Clo

Witchy you didn’t bore me, I’ve just been addicted to a new game on facebook (well, the game’s not new, but it’s new to me) called Farm Town. I’ve been pretty obsessed with it.

Laura- Bar none? Yup, we tried it. It sent Jeremy a bunch of spam, then we got all excited because we got a email saying we’d been approved at this dealership a little ways from us, and we checked out their inventory and they had a car we liked. We called the dealer the next day, and they told us no. So, f them, lol. I dunno, now Jeremy’s trying to get his schedule switched, and talking about how if he gets it switched, he’ll be able to do moving jobs again, which means he’d be keeping the truck and we wouldn’t trade it in, so I dunno what’s going on anymore. Jeremy’s just so… I don’t want to say scatterbrained, because it’s not like that, he’s just… Not a planner. And it drives me nuts. Like when I was pregnant I wanted to sit down and plan things and he was like “it’s way too early you don’t need to do that yet, ect” And, I mean I was doing things a little too early, but if we had done it his way, things would never have gotten done (like the nursery? I pretty much did the whole thing. He helped a little here and there, and put the crib together. But I painted, hung the majority of the pictures and decorations, designed it, ect. Anyway, his one job? Hanging the boarder. Guess what STILL, 8 months after he was born, isn’t done? Oh yeah, the border) I’m a little mad about his schedule change, actually. I mean the hours will be MUCH better (9-5:30) so we’ll have more time together but it means a.) I’ll have to start getting up with the baby again (ugh, lol, but not the major reason I’m mad) and B.) When I start working at camp, I dunno how I’m going to get there, or Jeremy get to work, because I’ll have to leave at like 7:00 in order to be there by 8:30 (that’ll get me there a little early, but sometimes traffic is bad) and if I want to stay and swim (which I was hoping to do with Cayden) I won’t be home till like 6. He’ll have Friday’s and Saturdays off. So I dunno.

Laura- I hope you feel better soon. I was just thinking the other day how weird it was that Cayden hasn’t been sick yet (knock on wood) I sure hope he has Jeremy’s immune system which is crazy strong, and not my crappy one.

27 05 2009
Clo

Ha, it’s funny I just spoke of Jeremy’s immune system. Guess who’s sick? Yeah, he’s got a low grade fever, and a sore throat. I really hope I’m not next.

27 05 2009
lara21167

I’m going to the doctor today, I called in sick again, I’m getting worse not better. There is something nasty going around.

Yes Cloey Bar none is what I was thinking. I guess most of those things are scams. Get you excited then let you down.

I’ll try to check back later….

Oh real quick, Rowdy, I love Seinfeld. And I was watching the 50 best sitcom lines over the past 70 years and guess what was #1? “Yada, Yada, Yada”

27 05 2009
Clo

I hope Jeremy doesn’t have what you do. He totally refuses to slow down. I was trying to get him to stay home today, and he wouldn’t. I told him he could stay home today, rest, get a little better and make it up tomorrow (his normal day off) but he still said no. I kinda get it, he’s trying for that schedule change, but still, I worry about him, he doesn’t slow down.

The sickness will most likely ruin our plans for tomorrow, but oh well. We probably shouldn’t spend the money anyway.

Other than that though, today has been a pretty good day. For one, I don’t know if I told you that Giant Eagle (A grocery store here) was interested in hiring Jeremy a few months ago? They turned him down for bad credit (which kinda pissed him off because nobody told him that’s why they were turning him down, the lady kinda ignored him till he kept calling, and then said the position had been filled.) Well, they called him today. Turns out they can’t find anyone else, and Jeremy’s super qualified. So they’re giving him an interview. Which means he most likely has it. It means more money, better hours and…. INSURANCE!!!! 🙂 Then we went thrifting (It was half off day) and seriously SCORED. We got Cayden seriously a TON of clothes, a few toys, an umbrella stroller for my Mom’s, a SUPER nice high chair that is a little dirty but other than that,m it would have been really expensive, and a Louis Vuitton that is either real or a REALLY nice fake (By law they’re not knowingly allowed to sell fakes. However, some of the fakes are SUPER nice, so it’s really hard to tell. My sister LOVES purses, and used to work at a consignment shop, so she’s used to spotting fakes. I’m going to have her look at it.) all for 50 bucks. I’m so excited.

29 05 2009
Clo

So, today was shaping up to be a pretty good day, and now I’m not so sure. For one, Jeremy sold his truck. For way less than he wanted to sell it, but still, it’s sold. So we head to Ricart (a HUGE car place here) because Jeremy called them to see if they could give us financing. They couldn’t get him, because he has a repo with them, and they stipulated that they could only give him a loan if he paid it off. However, they said if I had a co-signer that didn’t have a repo with them, they could do me.

So we schlep all the way down there, thinking we’d get a car with my Mom as a co-signer. They promise financing, so we knew we’d get approved, we just didn’t know what our payment would look like. We get all the way down there, and it’s kinda a hike from our house. Only to find that I can’t get a loan, unless I put down 2500. And, even then, THEY get to pick the car that I get, which he told me would most likely have 90,000 miles on it.

Why would I do that?

Well, he says to build my credit. Because that’s the problem. I have NO credit. They literally couldn’t even find a credit score for me. Because I have NONE. Seems that the only way I can GET credit, is by agreeing to an overpriced piece of shit. It’s bull, and when I said I refused to do it? The guys answer was “You’ve got to start building your credit somewhere” Jeremy told him I could just take 2500 and get a semi-decent car (of my semi-choosing) from a private owner.

I’m just so frustrated at this point. Because you know what, if we can’t get a car, that’s fine. But I’d rather not spend my husband’s day off schlepping across town because you tell me that YES! I CAN GET A LOAN! Only to show up and find out, PHYSC, no you can’t! The thing that pisses me off even more, is that Ricart promises financing. If they can’t finance you, they pay you. But they don’t tell you what their terms are, which they could have easily done with Jeremy over the phone. “Oh, well we can get anyone a loan, all it requires is that you don’t have any repo’s with us, you put 2500 down, and we pick the car” Seriously? How hard IS that?

Jeremy’s seriously sick now, and he feels like us not being able to get a new car is his fault, because he’s got such bad credit, and he’s on this whole I can’t provide for my family kick again. And it’s just SO sad to me, because he really honestly busts his ass to provide for us. The economy just sucks right now, and everyone is going without.

Laura, how are you feeling hon? How’s everyone else?

29 05 2009
Witchypoo

Lara…ok, girl – I’m really starting to get worried about you. Obviously, if you’re not checking in at all, you’re still at home, sick. Did you go to the doctor, and what did you find out? (yes, I know: sick…I meant specifically). As soon as you’re able, let us know that you’re still alive, (knock-wood).

Cloey…the car situation sounds pretty crappy, (especially considering that you’ve put a substantial amount of time, energy, and effort into the venture). Poor Jeremy; it probably doesn’t help that he’s sick…which plays with anyone’s outlook/emotions. Does he respond to your efforts at making him feel better? When you’re feeling the worst, having the person closest to you there, comforting and smoothing things over…there’s no substitute, you know?

Hope things look up for everyone soon…

Take care.

29 05 2009
lara21167

Well I am still alive lol. I went to the doctor and he sent me to the lab for bloodwork, the lab made me where a mask since I was being tested for Flu A and B and Swine. Still waiting for the results. I guess I’m feeling a little better. I slept pretty good last night and was able to eat some toast this morning. I went through a vomiting stage and that was horrible. But I’m still running fevers. I;ve heard other people being sick, but not this bad, they are able to function just that this apparently last 2 – 3 weeks. If it just gets to where I can function I’ll be happy.

Cloey sorry about your continued loan problems. Those damn places don’t tell you they need all this money down to get a loan.

I’ll let you all know when I hear the results from the bloodtest.

30 05 2009
Clo

Laura- I’m thinking Jeremy has what you have, he hit a throwing up stage this morning. Let me know what they tell you.

30 05 2009
Witchypoo

Get better soon, Sweetlara…check in when you’re feeling up to it.

Take care.

30 05 2009
lara21167

They still don’t have my bloodtest results. Good thing I’m finally getting better. I actually made dinner last night and ate!! I had a craving for stuffed shells and salad. And held it all down.

Cloey the biggest thing I had was fever. And I got to a point medicines weren’t taking it down. I mean I’d do the tylonal/motrine thing and that usually works like a charm and the fever would just keep going up. The only way I could get it down was turn the A/C on and keep wiping a cold wet wash cloth over me, then it would go down. The other thing is the night sweats, you wake up completely drenched. Whatever this is I don’t think it’s Swine Flu, but I’ve heard of several people having it and it would be nice if the news would report something about it. People should know what sicknesses are going around, especially with the Swine flu scare.

If I ever get the results from that darn blood test, I’ll let you know.

31 05 2009
Clo

Ugh, I really need to go to bed. I’m so tired from getting up with Cayden and I still stay up way too late. Luckily tonight he’s at my Mom’s, so I’ll get a full nights sleep, but I still have to be up semi-early, Jeremy’s got a moving job and has to go pick up the truck (we sold his, did I tell you guys that?)

Laura- I hope you feel better soon. Jeremy gets random bursts where he feels better, followed by severe crappiness. He went to work today but had to leave early because he just felt so horrible and started to lose his voice (he talks on the phone, so if he can’t talk, he can’t work.) I keep waiting to catch whatever it is he has, but so far (knock on wood) neither I nor Cayden have any signs.

I ordered Jeremy’s fathers day present from Cayden. I got him a travel mug with a collage of pictures on it. Witchy, I know you said Jerry was working on a slideshow, if he likes things to do with pictures, you should check out snapfish.com (and anyone else who may want to get their dad something photo themed) they have TONS of stuff, ties, mouse pads, aprons, cutting boards, key chains, mugs, tee shirts, posters, sweatshirts, golf towels, playing cards, puzzles, coasters, photo books, ect. I also have a code for 20% off (NEWFORDAD is the code) I want to get the puzzle for me.

Anyway, I’m about to go to bed. I’m beat. BUUUUUUUUT I had a question for you Mom’s. I read an article on baby center about development. And I try not to let those articles freak me out, because I know every baby is different. I don’t worry about him not crawling because I know a few babies who never did crawl, just walked. However, I’m a little worried about one thing: Cayden can sit unsupported, but he can’t get there on his own, and doesn’t really even try too. I’m just wondering how old your kids were when they could put themselves in a sitting position. He’ll sit when we place him on the floor sitting, but if he falls over? He can’t get back up into it. He’s also not really pulling to stand. He’ll pull on our hands and stands, and a week or two ago he pulled up while sitting in the laundry hamper, but he doesn’t reach up for the couch to pull himself up or anything. And for a baby who loves to stand so much, I’m kinda like huh…

31 05 2009
Clo

New Pet Peeve: People who think that they can park wherever they want. Jeremy had a move job this morning, so we rented a truck. I took him so I could have the car for the day. First off, we were literally waiting for over a 1/2 hour because there was just one person working. Which was bull. Then, first this guy pulls in with a truck return. Parks right behind me, blocking in five cars, mine included, plus other trucks. We were still waiting, so I didn’t have to leave, but it was like, really guy? I mean the line for the rentals was already backed up, had someone tried to leave with their truck they wouldn’t be able to get out. But he moved it. But then not one, but three cars pull in. One parks right behind a truck (Um, it’s a truck rental place, don’t you think someone might be renting that truck, therefore may need to get out?) another parks beside it, blocking in again, a row of trucks, and more cars, and then some asshole seeing this cluster fuck, decides to park behind the first asshole and block in another three cars, mine included.

I don’t get what makes people think they’re SO important that they can ignore traffic laws and park where ever the hell they want too, blocking in whoever the hell they want. I’ve seen it a billion times, people pulling up right to the store. Sure they’re “just running in and out” and I get that it’s annoying to park WAY out there for a five minute trip to the store, but you still gotta do it.

1 06 2009
Witchypoo33

Cloey, yeah, I get that you worry about “milestones” when you’re comparing, and it seems like your little guy isn’t quite where everyone else says their babies are at around the same age. Let’s see…without digging out my calendars and baby books from my storage closet of sentimental items…Beau was a little slower to do everything than Chance, which is typical of first and second babies, (the logic being that the younger sibling has the older one to watch and mimmick). Anyhoo, Beau was pulling himself into a sitting position by around 6 – 7 months, and pulling himself up to stand, holding onto objects, soon after – by 9 months. He didn’t actually walk, unassisted, until 13 – 14 months, (which seemed late, considering the other things he was doing beforehand). His pediatrician told me, though, that beefier babies, especially boys, tend to walk a little later, since it requires more effort and coordination to move their bodies around. Chance did everything a little sooner, (he was also a little taller and slimmer than Beau as a baby); he sat up without falling over and could get himself into a sitting position earlier, (though I’m not positive off the top of my head HOW much sooner; I do remember distinctly him standing on my lap, one foot on each of my thighs, holding onto my hands and bounce-bounce-bouncing like a kangaroo really early…around 5 – 6 months; he needed to hold onto my hands, but he was “hopping” all over the place. Also, he walked on his own completely by 11 months, after having held onto walls to get around for a while before. Heath was a little athlete about his walking – started crossing rooms by 9 months. He sat unassisted a little sooner than Beau, also, and could pull himself to a sitting position by holding onto nearby objects and kind of shimmying himself up at pretty much the same time. I guess I’d have to look at my calendars/books to know exact dates/ages. I do know that Cayden being the first child…and, didn’t you say that he’s in a high percentile for weight/height?…and you usually do a lot more for the first baby, (instead of waiting for him to do it for himself)….there are various reasons why he might take a little longer than some other babies you’re comparing him to. Try not to fret too much and enjoy his milestones as they come. I know…mommies worry; I’m well acquainted with that state of mind.

Take care.

1 06 2009
lara21167

I’m laughing at your pet peeve cloey, that is so annoying. Seems like everyone’s in such a hurry nowadays they have no consideration for anyone else.

About Cayden, I cannot remember when my babies actually got into a sitting position without being placed in one. Seems like close to a year but I’m not sure. Pulling themselves into a standing, my son was doing that pretty young and Kristy walked at 10 or 11 months which is a bit early too. But don’t worry Cayden will do things in his own sweet time.

Well I offically have Flu A & B (whatever that is). Jeremy might have it Cloey because a friend of my husband’s has been fighting it for going on 3 weeks, and he said he’ll start to feel good, then crappy again. Now I’m just starting to feel better, I’m at work now. But I’m still tired and run down. I guess it’ll be another week before I really start feeling better.

Yesterday was Kristy’s Cheerleading Awards Banquet. They had a limo take them and had to dress up (they did a Hollywood Theme) It turned out really well. And they gave all the girls HUGE trophies. This is Kristy’s 3rd trophy, so I told her she needed to tell her dad she had a project for him. She has no where to put these things. After the awards, they had a DJ and a dance for the girls. Kristy danced to 2 songs she likes to dance to and we left, I was starting to feel worn out. But it was fun. Will have pics soon.

1 06 2009
monkeyspeaks

Clorida you would HATE my street. I know I do lol. For a similar reason.

The streets in LA are SUPER old so they are all pretty tight and my neighborhood is no exception. There isn’t a ton of street parking either because families here pack so many people into one home so they all park on the street, screwing those of us who live in the apartments over. And the ones that DO have parking spots will honestly park their car on the street to hold it for friends and other family members and THEN park in their driveway. Its annoying, but bearable. What drives me up a wall is when they double park wihle waiting for someone and just totally block the street in. And its never just one person doing it, its always 3 on both sides so you’re weaving in and out. There is a redzone on my block where you can leave the car for a few minutes and its not in the way but people are too lazy to use it.

I dont know much about kids, but I know my brother and I hit different milestones at different times. Like I was doing everything really early (started walking and talking before a year) and my brother hit his after a year. So don’t worry. I think its all relative. I know kids that didn’t talk until after a year and they’re SUPER smart.

So we sucked it up and decided to pay for a home rental service. There is one here called West Side Rentals. You get 2 months for 60 bucks and if you dont find a place within 2 months then they refund 50 dollars so its kind of a no lose situation. AND if you do find a place they a) give you crazy discounts for moving supplies and rentals and you dont have to pay every time you need a credit check. You just apply online and they offer free credit checks, SO considering we each have to have one whenever we look into a place (they’re between 25 and 50 a person) we’ve paid for the service with the first house we decide we are interested in. Since we signed on we’ve found like 15 houses we think have potential AND its really well organized. You can put your favorites on a clipboard and write notes so I’ve been able to document who we’ve emailed and called and what we have and haven’t seen. It seems minor but believe me, it SERIOUSLY helps. When we just used craigslist we would cosntantly be like did we call these people? when did we email them, etc, and because we both are searching together sometimes we’ll contact someone and forget to tell the other person. So now we use the same search and can see what each other have done. SO much more convenient. AND I get three paychecks in July so I’ll actually be able to pay through June and we can move this moth if we see somewhere and not worry about June rent AND if I can’t get someone to rent in July then we’ll still be covered, and if not, then extra income to put toward the house (or a new computer).

ANNNDDD. Massage this saturday. Can’t wait! Going with a friend here and we’re both just so badly in need of one.

And I finally did yoga!!! WOOO. Im in a ton of pain (the good kind). I always forget how much it works you out. The friend I am going to the spa with and I started something we’re calling Operation 30. We both want to lose 30 lbs within the next six months (her for her wedding, me for my self confidence and because Im tired of having NOTHING to wear and refuse to buy new clothing at the size im at). We want to just do it without involving our guys because while they are supprotive, they dont always understand what its like to be a female and try to lose weight. So they’ll say the wrong thing, or be pushy without meaning to and it discourages us. But when we talk about it together it just motivates each other. Like we went out to dinner (all four of us) and if my guy knew and i went to order something that wasn’t the healthiest choice, he’d say something and I would get defensive. All my friend (Nina) had to say was did you check out the salads and we would flash each other a 3-0 with our fingers and wed laugh and get the right choice. Basically we’re making it fun and doing what we can together. I really think Op 30 is gonna work. I’ve already made way better choices. AND I told Ape that he can say “that’s not a great choice” and then thats all he can say. He has to leave the rest up to me.

Here’s hopin.

1 06 2009
Witchypoo33

Good for you, Goldie…you’ll do it. Great to hear from you; your life sounds VERY busy right now.

Lara…I’m glad you’re on the mend; get AS MUCH rest as you possibly can; it’s the most important thing. Are you taking extra vitamin C? Also, the B groups, (like, B50), are good for helping fatigue.

Cloey…sorry to hear about poor Cayden being sick; is he throwing up, with a fever? You must be exhausted from staying up all night. Let us know how it’s going when you can.

Take care.

1 06 2009
Clo

Laura- did they tell you to do anything for the flu? I’m just wondering if there’s a point in making Jeremy get checked out, of if they’re just going to tell us to do fluids and rest?

Cayden’s sick now. He looks like he just feels crappy and spiked a pretty nasty fever last night. He was up from 2 AM till about 10. He slept for an hour from 5-6 but the rest of the time he’d take like 10 minute cat naps and it had to be on us and we had to be sitting up, and then he’d fidget in his sleep and wake up crying. I feel so bad, and I called the doctor, but his fever isn’t dangerously high, and he’s still eating, so they say not to worry about it, just do motrin every 6 hours. The motrin didn’t really seem to work on his fever last night but I gave it to him before his nap, and it seems to be gone. Here’s hoping.

Rowdizzle I hope op 30 works, I need to get my ass on a weight loss dealio. My Mom told me if I lose 100 lbs she’ll take me on a cruise (it was my idea, my mom wasn’t like, here tubbo, lose weight and we’ll go on a cruise, lol.)

And I hope you find a house.

1 06 2009
Witchypoo33

Wow, Cloey…your mom sounds really nice, and caring.

2 06 2009
Clo

My Mom can be really nice and caring. It was hard for us to get where we’re at now. My Mom and I are too much alike, so it took me moving out and that space for us to get alone. And, I mean, a cruise is SUPER nice, don’t get me wrong, but my Mom’s ALWAYS been like that. She’s just not very expressive with words, just money and material items. If I did good in school I didn’t get a good job, I got a gift of some sort. If she fought she didn’t say sorry, it was a present. It took me awhile to realize that that’s just how she is.

Cayden’s feeling much better, I think. He’s still cranky and doesn’t LOOK 100%, but his fever’s gone (I bow down to the alter of Children’s Motrin.) and he sat down and ate a whole size 3 jar of food, which he’s NEVER done before (it’s 6 oz of food!) and then an additional 4 oz of formula and some watered down juice.

2 06 2009
Witchypoo33

That’s great, Cloey; if he’s eating all that, he must be feeling A LOT better.

Lara, how are you? Hopefully, you’re sleeping right now.

Take care.

2 06 2009
lara21167

Well Cloey I am glad to hear Cayden is doing better. How about Jeremy? I think the only thing they can give for the Flu is this Tama flu, I have a perscription for. It just helps get over it faster. But I wasn’t paying $88 for a medicine until I knew what I had. (and that’s $88 with my perscription card.) I never got the perscription because I was starting to feel better without it. So my advise to Jeremy is the fluids and rest. It just pretty much has to run it’s course.

Rowdy, get the damn flu, I lost like 5 pounds last week lol!! But that’s great to have a friend for support, that helps so much.

2 06 2009
lara21167

So Ginger appears to be in heat. I was guessing her age about 9 months, maybe 10 months. Is it about that time?? I thought I had more time to get her spayed. My damn Vet wants close to $300 for spaying. And guess what the vouchers the Humane Society gives out they do based on income. Anyone on Welfare can get them automatically, isn’t that nice. What about us middle income people who can’t get any kind of help and want pets too and want them spayed or neutered. That just irretates me I guess I can put down a deposit at my Vet and schedule the appointment for a month or so later instead of forking out the money up front. I took an old pair of shorts of Kristy’s to put on Ginger. I could get them on at first, now she fights me. And the blood just grosses my hubby out, so he wants to keep her in her cage all the time. Once we get through this I have to get the spaying done, so we don’t have to go through it again lol.

2 06 2009
Clo

Laura- Jeremy has bouts. Sometimes he feels really good, and then he’s back to feeling crappy.

As far as spaying, if you tell me your area I can see if I can find any low cost spay places. Spaying is more expensive than neutering because it’s more invasive, but I still think 300 dollars is a little crazy. We have a place here, and the most they charge is 165 dollars (they base their prices on weight, so all dogs over 150 lbs cost 165)

When we got my dog neutered, it was 100 dollars. True, he’s a little dog, and it was a neuter, but we also paid extra to get his shots updated, give him pain medication after, and to give him a flea pill (the place we took him too said they had a lot of strays come in, so there’s this pill they recommend which repels/kills fleas for 24 hours.)

It does suck that there’s more help for the lower class than the middle class. I went to a seminar once and there was a HUGE discussion on how it’s almost BETTER to be poor than middle class because you get TONS more help. But yeah, tell me the area you’re in and I’ll look it up and see if there are any low cost spay places around you.

2 06 2009
monkeyspeaks

Holy crap, Laura, DO NOT spend 300 dollars on a spay. Seriously.

Now, i’ll tell you one reason it may be more expensive right now? is because Ginger IS in heat (and yes, 9/10 months sounds about right). Whent hey are in heat its a riskier surgery and messy for the doctor so its a bit harder, SO they do charge more. But 300 is ABSOLUTELY outrageous. And I live in Los Angeles… one ofthe most expensive cities… and we just spayed keeper for about 100 dollars… AND we went to a more expensive place. We probably could have gotten the spay done for 50-75 dollars without a voucher, but because we’re in a small area we needed a specific type of suture so she could be up and playing again with the other dogs. (She’ll be 100% within three days). Basically our vet does the surgery in a way that she sutures everything from the inside. This means no open wound (just slight iritation) on the outside and no blood. And she does a VERY VERY small incision. And it still cost us between 80 and 100 dollars.

Do not pay 300. You’re getting ripped off. Unless this vet is doing the laser surgery, which is the only way I could see it coming to that amount (we have a vet here also who would do the laser and it comes out to about thaT). But its really unnecessary if you dont have 300 laying around (and who doeS).

I suggest looking for Vets that support hollistic life styles. Because they dont believe in pumping your dog full of drugs they may be better priced. Be wary of any vet that consistently names of drugs and stuff to stuff your dog with. Your dog isn’t meant to have a ton of chemicals in there! Our vet is hollistic and basivcally did the surgery, gave a pain shot and sent her home. No extra fees for medicines, etc.

2 06 2009
lara21167

Well Ginger is all of 25 – 30 pounds she’s not hevy. I thought that was high too, so I called another Vet and they sai 200 – 250 and they advertise low cost spaying and neutering. And I plan on waiting until after the heat to do it. Not like she runs loose outside or anything. I really don’t think she’d run off if she did get out. Hell I go to the bathroom and she lays outside the door whining until I come out.

Cloey I live in Hagerstown, maryland it is in Washington County. if you can find something I would really appreciate it… And this area is supposed to be a lower cost of living. Ha that’s a joke anymore.

2 06 2009
Clo

OK, on the ASPCA’s website they have a thing where you can search for free or low cost spay/neuter places. They ask for your zip code though, and I don’t know yours, but here’s the website: http://www.aspca.org/pet-care/spayneuter/

If you have any trouble, let me know and I can go look for you if you give me your zip. Right now Cayden’s up or I’d look around for some more.

2 06 2009
lara21167

I will check it out, thanks Cloey.

2 06 2009
Witchypoo33

You ladies are just so nice; helping each other out and everything.

2 06 2009
Witchypoo33

I mean, there’s something…comforting about knowing that you can just jump on here and ask about something, and one of us, (at least), at any given time will attempt some assistance, and/or advice. I’ve got the tv on, and a newsbreak just interrupted, saying how a Walmart about 30 – 40 minutes from the area I live in just experienced a shooting. An armoured truck guard was shot and killed; 2 guys apparently wanted the money he was picking up to transport to the bank. The kind of crazy shit that happens can be pretty discouraging at times. That’s why it’s nice to be reminded that there’s really nice people out there, (like you guys)…and I even know some of them, (like you guys). Take care.

2 06 2009
lara21167

That’s awful Witchy!! Every day around here seems like another bank is robbed. People are desperate for money, but that’s just no excuse. Especially in killing someone.

3 06 2009
Clo

Well. I’m really a serial killer.

lol, sorry I’m just kidding. I’m REALLY tired, but I have to wake Cayden to go pick Jeremy up in like an hour so there’s no point in napping, and I’m like slap happy. And every time I come to this page I get “Believe it or not I’m walking on air, I never thought I could feel so fre-e-eeeee” stuck in my head, and now I’m laughing over nothing.

But, Witchy a.) That’s horrible. People are just desperate for money. When i was in 8th grade, we had to take this class called FCS (I forget now what it stands for, maybe family consumer science?) Anyway, it was like a home ec class, a sex ed class, and like, just random shit class. It was by far my favorite class and I went back in my high school years to be a teaching assistant for them. Anyway, I digress. I remember one of the requirements of the class was we had to get so many community service hours. We could volunteer at a nursing home, or come up with our own project (kids did teddy bear drives for the local hospital, collected soap and shampoo and stuff for homeless shelters, ect.) It was a lot of fun. I grew up in a rich white neighborhood, to show us just how lucky we were, they took us on this thing called “Beyond the freeway.” We visited homeless shelters, drove around poor neighborhoods, and that sort of them. I remember hearing about how a lot of the people in the homeless shelters were there because Ohio shut down a lot of the mental institutions that used to be around. They had no place to go, no family or had family that either couldn’t deal with their problems or didn’t want to try. And then, the mens shelter here, they tried to shut it down too, because they said it wasn’t helping, and it was dangerous. The mens shelter kicked the men out during the day to look for jobs, except for those who had mental problems, they were allowed to stay during the day but had to work. They also had this HUGE screen tv, but weren’t allowed to turn it on during the day either. The back of the mens shelter had clothing for interviews, as well as basic household items for when people finally did get a place of their own (even if your on food stamps, which it’s REALLY hard for men to get, you often have to choose between buying soap or buying toilet paper, and there are no food stamps for things like bedding, a chair, ect. So this place had them.) Anyway, like I said, the city of Columbus wanted this place to be shut down, a lot of people thought it was dangerous to have them around. The director there told us something that I’ll NEVER forget, and I agree with: Homeless men aren’t dangerous. Desperate people are dangerous. They had a place to go, and help, and most importantly, hope. But when that hope runs out and you have nothing to lose? You’re willing to put everything on the line.

I know that’s not always the case. Sometimes it’s just plain old greed (like corporations embezzling and all that just to get even richer.) or hatred. But I think in the upcoming months we’ll see a lot more crime, because a lot more people are desperate. Programs that were barely making it before, are getting their funding cut left and right. Nobody has the money really, to help out anymore.

3 06 2009
Witchypoo33

I know, Cloey; I often think of something I heard or read somewhere, a long time ago: you just never know when life will throw you an unexpected turn of events; it could be one big thing, or a series of smaller happenings that add up to a desperate point in your life. ANYONE can find themselves in dire circumstances, at one point or another; it’s not always about lack of effort, or really poor planning, or defects in character, or whatever else is typically viewed as reasons for being “down and out”. People don’t want to examine the darker side of life, preferring to think they’re exempt from heartbreak, tragic circumstances, and hopelessness. It’s just not always the case. That’s why it’s important to always keep compassion in your heart, and an open mind to others’ plights. That saying about walking in another’s shoes…profoundly true.

Take care.

3 06 2009
janey

hey guys.
whats up.?
im in global history right now
listening to my teacher babble lol
well, back to the test im supposed o be studying for.

3 06 2009
lara21167

Well hey Janey, when do you get out of school? Today is Kristy’s last day.

Cloey and Witchy you are so right. No one knows what life holds and if the rug, so to speak, will be ripped out from under you. And there’s not alot of help for men out there. Always be compassionate and “Help Somebody If You Can” That’s from VanZant great song btw.

3 06 2009
janey

lara- next wednesday is our last day and then we have finals and regents. the middle school and elementary school get out in two weeks

3 06 2009
janey

ok. i passed my test
i have studyhall for the next two hours so im goin to one then leave for an hour and a half and come back in time for spanish. i cant wait for the end of school. my god sister is turning 18 tomorrow and she just got her license and she is drivin around and she just got a kitty.
and i wrote like four poems thsi weekend.

this one is called Death of Love
tell me what you think

Hate, I wish you would die
Love, you meant everything to me
Gone, forever, like yesterday
Here, the pain, too much to bare
A dream, I wish I would dare
To tell, tell you you were the reason I lived
And now, you’re the reason I’m dying
Inside, slowly, like a dehydraded rose
There, you were, a;ways, in my mind, heart
Erased, like a mistake made on paper
You were, the best thing that ever happened to me
Yet you are, the biggest mistake I ever made
To love, as much as I loved you, inevitable
But to hate, as much as i hate you , heartbreaking, but certain
Death, of something so beautiful
Turned ugly, by your lies
I believed, believed it was real
I loved, til the end…until I died

3 06 2009
lara21167

Great poem for a breakup. Your poems are dark but very good Janey.

Leave a Reply

