Sonnet 114

10 06 2009
SONNET 114
Or whether doth my mind, being crown’d with you,
Drink up the monarch’s plague, this flattery?
Or whether shall I say, mine eye saith true,
And that your love taught it this alchemy,
To make of monsters and things indigest
Such cherubins as your sweet self resemble,
Creating every bad a perfect best,
As fast as objects to his beams assemble?
O,’tis the first; ’tis flattery in my seeing,
And my great mind most kingly drinks it up:
Mine eye well knows what with his gust is ‘greeing,
And to his palate doth prepare the cup:
If it be poison’d, ’tis the lesser sin
That mine eye loves it and doth first begin.

 

I typed it out by memory in the comment section but opted to post it as it should be written. Just because a lot can add to a poems meaning, not just the actual words.

 

If you want to try and read it the way it shoul dsound remember “-‘d” would be the way we say something past tense like poisoned… and if the “-ed” is in there you would pronunciate that, “Poison-ed.”

 

You’re also supposed to take a “breath’ with every comma. Its not easy lol. I had to prefomr this for a speech class.

 

Anyway, enjoy, I’m interested in what you guys see with this.

Actions

Information

18 responses

10 06 2009
lara21167

First of all did I mention I wasn’t very good at poety interpretations??

Ok lets see -I’d say a person (could be man or woman) is being seduced by another and not sure whether this person’s intentions are good or bad. Don’t laugh at me I told you I wasn’t good at this lol.

anyway the guard at the museum did die. I think the shooter is still alive. I’d like to know how he carried a gun around DC without someone seeing him. I mean the Whitehouse is literally around the corner…

11 06 2009
monkeyspeaks

Hey, don’t say that. Your interpretation isn’t far from the “literary one”

My first was when I did it I thought that the poet was asking if they were in love with someone because of their mind or because of what they saw. Do I love you because my mind loves you or are you so beautiful that im blinded by all and love you. And then at the end decides it doesn’t matter because they just want to be in love.

Which is also close but also wasn’t the literary translation.

I will go more into depth with it but I really wanted to see some of the others insights. I like seeing how different people see different things when they read poetry. Thats the one thing I do like about it. It means something different to everyone.

11 06 2009
monkeyspeaks

I mean the first “impression” i did for it. I noticed some more allusions and themes the more I read into it and the more I studied it, but my first impression was the love thing. And Love IS part of it. And believe it or not, there IS a sort of “seduction,” just not a traditional sense. Its actually kind of cool.

11 06 2009
lara21167

Now you really have my curiosity up!!

11 06 2009
janey

when i first read it, my impression was that the poet was
letting his mind be seduced, but not really wanting to. i mean. like, sirt of an internal battle. do i want to let my mind be seduced into tricking me to feel something i dont, or do i really feel this way, or is it that i WANT to feel this way, but i just dont.?
i dont know if that made sense, but thats how i saw it.

11 06 2009
janey

oh, and. i put up new pics on myspace
of the last day of school and someof my friends.
check em out if you get a chance.
and in about 3 weeks. my hair is going to be purple and black.!

11 06 2009
Clo

OK, I was wondering this, but I didn’t want to say it because I didn’t want to sound dumb, or like I was being a bitch or anything but… I mean you can’t really be wrong when you’re interpreting a poem, can you? Isn’t it all about how the poem makes you feel, and what you take from it? I mean I never took poetry interpretation classes, I’m not sure if they didn’t offer them in my school, if they taught it on one of the (many) days I skipped school, or perhaps it was a end of junior or senior year type deal after I dropped out. I mean, we read poems, we talked about what we thought they meant, but we were never deemed wrong or right in our answers. Jussssst wondering.

11 06 2009
janey

clo- you dont sound dumb.
but mostly when the poems are written the poet writes them with a specific purpose or meaning. but unless you know the poet and can ask you will never know the TRUE meaning of a poem. so i guess when people interperate them, they are just saying what the think the oem mean or what it does mean to them, so no i guess there isnt a correct answer.

11 06 2009
monkeyspeaks

You and Janey are both dead on Clorida. While a poet will write something with a specific thought in mind (perhaps) or theme, or the poem may have a specific meaning, part of what I DO enjoy about poetry is that it’s open to interpretation and that yes, it DOES mean something idfferent to everyone. Like even though I know what “the experts” say it should mean and I can see how they got there, my original meaning is still what the poem says to me personally. And its why I didn’t want to go into depth just yet about what critics think shakespeare meant by it. I wanted to see what you guys saw in my favorite sonnet.

11 06 2009
monkeyspeaks

IM not huge on poetry. Id really prefer to read a novel than pick up a poem. But there are things I do like about poetry and literature in general. 1) that its more often than not open to interpretation and 2) word play

11 06 2009
janey

actually, you might find this weird but, i dont really like reading poetry.
i kinda think its boring, and like rowdy i prefer to read a book.
but i LOVE writing it. i think its the best way [at least for me] to express how one feels. and i love the fact that with poetry you can write something completely backwards and it will still make sense.

12 06 2009
Clo

Well I hate poetry. Especially old timey poetry, lol. It just takes too much effort for me to read it. Dr. Seuss, I can get into, lol, Billy? Not so much. It’s weird though because this summer they pretty much gave me free reign to do whatever I want at camp, so I’m teaching writing, which will be… Interesting. I’m not that great of a teacher, and I’m interested to see how the boys will react. Girls tend to love writing, boys, not so much. But, we shall see.

12 06 2009
Clo

Mmm, tomorrow I will tell you all the gems my mother in law bestowed on me tonight. I know, the anticipation is KILLING you.

12 06 2009
lara21167

Cloey I agree with you about interpreting poetry is how it makes you feel or what you get from it. I understand the writer had a certain meaning, but I think the real interpretation is in the reader. But the pompous English Lit teacher I had, and again I’m referring to the poem “Pappa’s Waltz” and how the whole class interpreted it as the father beating the son. The teacher told us that he wasn’t going to count it wrong because of the society we lived in. So to answer the question on being a specific meaning some teachers can push that as a yes. Although again I don’t think it should be a right or wrong, it’s your own personal idea.

Oh looking forward to the inlaw drama 🙂

12 06 2009
Clo

First is my pet peeves about my in laws. Cayden’s birthday is coming up, and I’ve told everyone that they don’t have to get him a gift, but if they want too, and they need suggestions, to ask me, because there’s a million things I’d like to have for him. My Mom wanted suggestions for a gift so we found this super cute mini play set, it has a swing and a little climbing dealie and a slide. We figured she could keep it in her basement, and we could get those big foam puzzle pieces and make a softer floor and turn it into a play room down there. Anyway, so we asked my mother in law if she needed suggestions. She said she wasn’t sure, but she let us know, and asked us what we were planning on getting him. Well we’re getting him a couple of small things I found at Ikea, and a rocking moose (Jeremy LOVES moose, and it’s so hard to find moose stuff for babies, so we found this rocking horse at Ikea, only it’s a moose, so we have to get it from him.) The big gift we’re getting him is a wagon. And I let her know that this wagon was our main gift, and something I was really looking forward to getting him, that I had researched a bunch of wagons, and it came down to this one and a radio flyer. The deciding factor was that the wagon I picked has a hard canopy top (the radio flyer had a canopy too, but it was fabric) so that parents could haul crap up on top, and even had drink holders for the parents on top (it has cup holders for the kids, seat belts, storage under the seats, it’s an amazing wagon, I’d roll in it) Plus you can get attachment trailors to hook onto the back to haul more crap, and it’s way cheaper than the radio flyer. Anyway, I told her, this is our main gift, our major one.

She keeps asking about the wagon. Where you can get it, how much it is. And I told Jeremy she wanted to buy the thing herself, and how I was going to go off if she did. I mean I told her how much WE wanted to buy it, and went over and over about how this would be his one major gift from us.) She told me yesterday she was going to buy it. And I was like “What?” and she was like “Well I know you guys were going to get it for his birthday, but don’t you want it sooner?” And I was like, no. I want to get it for his birthday. I was like he can’t even sit in it yet, he’s too little for it. She was like Oh, ok, and hopefully dropped it, but if she buys it, I’m going to make her eat the damn thing.

So then she did the normal dealio of “is he hot, is he cold, is he hungry, why’s he doing that, is he OK” over and over again. And then started getting on me because of the animals, and how I better be careful so they don’t give him rabies. Um, what?

The icing on the cake is she was like “What’s with all these immigrants coming to Westerville, they’re all over the place” and I was like “Well, Mary Anne, that’s kinda what America is all about. At one point everyone was an immigrant.” And she was like “Well, I know but sometime I’d like to take Cayden to the park and not be the only white people there.” and I was like “Well, I WANT Cayden around different types of people.” and she was like “Yeah, well, he IS learning.” and I just wanted to be like, yeah well, I wish someone had taught you. Not to mention she’ll never take Cayden anywhere by herself, considering the last time we saw them, she dropped him once, and almost dropped him a second time. Now had I done that, she’d be insisting we’d take him to the ER to check him out, but nope. She blamed HIM. “Well he’s just so wiggly” Yup, I know, he’s a BABY. If you can’t handle it, don’t hold him.

Then we have this leapfrog drum. And a lot of leapfrog toys sing in spanish AND english, which I LOVE. Anyway, it somehow got switched on Spanish and she was like “No no Cayden, we don’t want that, we want English.” and Jeremy was like “Why?” and she was like “He doesn’t need Spanish.” and Jeremy was like “We want him to learn Spanish” and I was like “Yeah, you can get some good jobs if you’re bilingual.” and she was like “Yeah, in the fast food industry. And you’re too good for that Cayden.”

And I just wanted to smack her. For one, a LOT of jobs require you to be bilingual. A lot of GOOD jobs too. And for two, I don’t want ANYONE to tell my son he’s too good for something. Do I hope he has a career in making french fries? No. But I also want him to know there’s no shame in ANY job, you know?

12 06 2009
lara21167

Hold on Cloey I’m still laughing!! I think you could write your own blog on that woman. She’d put Archie Bunker to shame lol. Yep the only job you can get if your bilingual is McDonalds. All other companies frown on speaking more than one language. That’s so funny. And she actually dropped Cayden??!! I don’t think I’d let her hold him again. Yes babies wriggle, and bounce and damn near jump out of your arms. You have to be ready. And the wagon, if she gets one just simple tell her to take it back you don’t want it. Maybe you should just not tell her what you plan on getting him or better yet, tell her something really expensive you’d love to have but can’t afford and tell her how you saved for it and all. Then maybe she’ll run out and get it!!

12 06 2009
monkeyspeaks

Clo – Tell your MIL that your friend works for corporate america and that if it came down to two people and everything was equal but one was bilingual and the other wasnt? The bilingual person would get it. I don’t know how you do it. I would be LIVID.

Im REALLY trying to write a new post. Im sitting here staring at the open doc. I have the other one I wrote before but I dont know, I just can’t finish it right now and it seems like I can’t think of anything to write. Its not that I dont ahve material or topics, its just, nothing wants to come out. 😦

12 06 2009
monkeyspeaks

I need to READ something that would impire me. Like read someone else’s fiction that is along the same lines of my own and get inspired through them to write it out. But I can’t find anything

Leave a Reply

